#TBT: Amy Fashion Through The Years

With every year, young Amy grew and grew…and with each passing decade created Kodak moments that she would later regret.*

First of all, I give you the footsie pajamas. I remember wearing these during the cold Wyoming winters and loving every minute of it.

Also, can we just all appreciate for a moment how committed I am to sleeping? Some moms now post pictures of their adorable sleeping kids looking like angelic cherubs on social media. And then there’s me…showing those covers who was boss. Some things never change.

1_Sleeper

Let us harken back to the year 1986, where frilled ankle socks ruled the day and plastic barrettes kept my hairs perfectly coifed for this NOT STAGED PICTURE. I’m serious. This is a CANDID shot at how I behaved as a kid. (Right, Mom?)

 

IMG_3877
I don’t like to talk about my days as a track star. I couldn’t go out in public without people recognizing me and asking for an autograph…I just wanted to have a normal childhood… 🙂

It was clear to me, at that time in my life, that the monochromatic look was best. Down to the velcro buckled shoes and elastic hair rubber bands.

3_Monochromatic

Apparently, when my sister Brittany was born, I had ebola or something and so this memory is etched in our family photo album. I think my ability to pull off this headband even though that mask is pretty much wearing me, is a a remarkable feat. Let’s focus on that.

4_Mask

There was a time in my life when I was all about cats. I’m not proud of it, but after years of therapy I’m able say the words out loud. I’m sorry to say that this shirt was not the first shirt of mine that featured a feline of some sort, nor was it the last.

5_Cats

In my family, if you didn’t have a puffy, twirly dress to wear you just weren’t trying hard enough. I’m fairly certain that most of these were hand-me-downs from my stylish cousins, Michelle and Pamela.

If you could, please turn your attention to the bow on top of my head that is bigger than my cousin Krissy’s baby head. Go big or go home, I always say. #lacetights

6_FluffyDresses

Let’s overlook for a moment the radiant look on my face and come back to that. Because Annie is right – you’re never fully dressed without a smile.

I’ve long harbored a love of the jelly sandal, but that was not even my most favorite part of this outfit…the shirt had a palm tree with coconuts that were actual plastic black beads sewn on. I thought I was so cool in this shirt. I’m certain I wore it down to rags. Please also note, if you will, the lightly feathered bangs. I was really coming into my own style in 1990.

I’m not sure if that look I’m giving was because the picture-taker was stopping the fun in order to preserve the memory or if I was being made to pull the wagon against my will. And I suppose this will have to remain one of life’s great mysteries.

7_Coconuts

Of all the outfits of my childhood, this sweatsuit was one of the most memorable. You can’t see it in the picture, but the pink roses that covered the front of the electric blue sweatshirt were made of sparkly pink puff paint. Yes. I’ve always loved glitter. SO SUE ME.

I believe these boldly colored garments were purchased at Christmas for the purpose of my gymnastic classes. I don’t remember going to very many classes which is likely because my talent, like Ross’ keyboard playing, was before its time. But I looked good. And that’s the most important thing, right?

8_TealJumpsuit

Ah, yes. The years of the leggings. I couldn’t find a picture, but this was also the era of the layered tube scrunch socks. I had at least three pairs…often on all at once. I also had a plastic tool used to cinch up the excess fabric at the side. Tools of the trade, you guys. Tools of the trade.

In this photo you can observe that the feathered bangs are becoming more full and defined…and that they were the only part of my head that I paid any attention to.

9_Leggings_Bangs_socks

High school in Alaska! Amy was my name, overalls were my game. I like to think that wearing black overalls instead of the traditional blue jean variety set me apart from the others.

Side note: I’m not quite sure why we all felt it necessary to stand outside without coats on. Ah, youth.

10_Overalls

At this time in my life, I felt it was high time to start mixing my fashion mediums. Sweater? Check. Bronco hat? Check. Done and done. And being a Bronco fan is always in season.

11_HatSweater

I think I have a better picture of this choir dress somewhere, but it was one of my favorites. I still have it hanging in the back of my closet.

This picture reminded me of the good times I had with my high school posse. I sang in a band, played chess at lunch, and made off-campus trips to Carrs grocery store for lunch with these yahoos. Such fond memories. 🙂

12_choirdress

dun, Dun, DUN! The return of the JELLY SANDAL! And ridiculous senior picture posing. 🙂 But I think the risers add a nice touch. Choir was the best!

13_HS_Jellies

I remember that one time when I wore capris as regular-length pants…oh, wait. THAT’S STILL TRUE.

14_Capris

Last, but certainly not least, a picture with my first post-college roommates. I have gone back to my black overall-wearing roots with this jumper dress, but what you can’t tell from the picture is that it’s made of nylon. See, I was hip. You know I was.

15_Jumper

Happy Throwback Thursday!

Amy

*I desperately wish I had a picture from my culotte phase. For those of you not familiar, culottes were a sort of split skirt/pant hybrid. I mostly wore a blouse and culottes of the same pattern. With nylons. And white flats. 

You’re welcome for that mental image. And now, I take my leave of you.

The Next 5 Books on My “To Read” List

Happy Wednesday, everyone!  I’m happy to report that I emerged from the icy tentacles of this winter storm relatively unscathed.

Tonight, I picked up my mail for the first time in…maybe a week? And as I pulled out all the Christmas mailers and Black Friday advertisements, I realized that my postal worker probably daily curses my name. And he/she knows where I live. Now, that’s a thought that’s going to fester…

IMG_3850Today was a really exciting day at work. Our early ship copies of the adult coloring book Whatever Is Lovely: A Coloring Book for Worship and Reflection arrived in the office. I’ve never been so happy to lug 7 heavy boxes of books to my desk. This project has been incredibly amazing and a journey of creativity from start to finish. There are few books that I can say I was a part of it from the beginning to the very end, but with this book I can say that. And I’m kind of in love with it. I know that might seem biased, but it’s really true.

When my four colleagues and I started the coloring book project, we didn’t just want to make a “Christian” version of a trend. We wanted to thoughtfully consider what value a book like this could bring to people. So, we put in a variety of artist’s work and wanted to make the pictures manageable to color—for most designs you can finish them in a matter of an hour or two rather than a week or two in books like The Secret Garden and others. We wanted to include verses, inspirational quotes, and hymn lyrics that could be meditated on and later hung as a reminders of truth. We all picked words that held great meaning for us.

And now it’s a real thing. I held it in my hands today and I was so happy.

So, that update brings us to current time. And when I’m not furiously coloring and re-sharpening my colored pencils, I’ll be reading.

I’ve read a lot of books this year, folks! Goodreads almost didn’t recognize me. I had a goal of 25 books and when I met it in September, I upped my goal to 30. I’ve now read 32 and I’m going strong!

Sometimes I really feel panicked about how many books are out there and how few of them I’m able to read. But then I look back at all the worlds I’ve entered and things I’ve learned from books and I feel like everything might be okay.

A reading list is so personal. Recommended books by trusted friends are so cherished. And not knowing what’s on the other side of a book cover is thrilling.!

Because my to-read list is never ending (seriously, it’s like the song that will not end, it just goes on and on my friendsssss…), I narrowed this down to the next five books on my “to read” list. I’d love to hear about books you’ve read and or ones you can’t wait to pick up, too!

5BooksCollage

  1. Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert. This one is a book club pick. The description says that the author will “…[discuss] the attitudes, approaches, and habits we need in order to live our most creative lives.” I don’t think I’ve ever read a book quite like this one, so it will be an adventure for sure! Plus the cover is bee-you-ti-ful.
  2. Searching for Sunday by Rachel Held Evans. I’ve not really been interested in reading the author’s other books. From blog posts I’ve read from her, it just felt like she was so angry and bitter about everything. It’s so easy to fall down those holes without any help at all, that I didn’t want to take a step in that direction. But this book seems like it’s a much more subdued and thoughtful narrative. I know there’s a lot of controversy around the author, but I’m interested to read her story. This one came highly recommended from a good friend of mine, so we shall see what its pages have to offer!
  3. Yes, My Accent Is Real by Kunal Nayyar. This year has kind of been the year of the humor books for me. I read Mindy Kaling’s newest, Why Not Me? and Tina Fey’s Bossypants. Loved Mindy’s, didn’t so much love Tina’s (though many of my friends do), and was warned off of Amy Poehler’s book by many good-hearted reading friends. I’m a fan of The Big Bang Theory, so I’m going to see what Kunal has to say for himself. Hopefully, I’ll hear his accent while I read. Fingers crossed!
  4. Ready Player One by Ernest Kline. I know not that much about this book. I know it is set in a video game (I think) and that people are raving about it. There’s a movie in the works, so I’m always about reading the book before seeing the movie. I was never really drawn in by the cover, but the same could be said about The Hunger Games trilogy, and I enjoyed those heartily because of a friend’s recommendation.
  5. A Curious Mind by Brian Grazer and Charles Fishman. Several months back, I read this article from Fast Company and I was completely hooked. I’m so curious (see what I did there?!) to get Brian’s perspective of success. So far, his approach really resonates with me.

I should say, this list does not include books I’m already reading (The Bronte Plot by Katharine Reay; Influencer by Kerry Patterson, Joseph Grenny, David Maxfield, Ron McMillan, and Al Switzler) or manuscripts that I’m reading (a dear friend’s book and a book I’m super excited about marketing next year called Rooted by Banning Liebscher).

I’m being pretty intentional to read widely this year and expand my view of the world through the voices of different people. It’s been an interesting path to walk and, for the most part, I’m glad I did it. But now I’ve set the bar REALLY high for next year. #facepalm

Happy Reading! XOXO,

Amy