Killing It, Smoothie Style

Okay, everyone. This year I made a New Year’s resolution: I wanted to create the perfect (for me) smoothie. This may seem like a cop-out by way of goals. I mean, if I can conquer the perfect banana bread, throwing random things in a blender and creating something delicious shouldn’t be hard, right?

WRONG.

I’ve tried a lot of combinations and consequently made a lot of sour faces.

I’ve pinned “how to” infographics and studied them intently. I even created a whole pin board on Pinterest dedicated to smoothies.

I’ve asked friends and family for tips and tricks.

I’ve tried recommended combinations from cookbooks that I trust.

Nothing. Nada. Zip.

SmoothieBut, finally, I’ve unlocked my go-to recipe of smoothie success. (Please be impressed. I am not exaggerating how long it took me to get here.) The secret seems to be to add a lot of kinds of fruits and not a ton of chalky protein powder.

In case you’re in the same kind of a bind as I was,  I’d like to impart my smoothie wisdom to you. (And if you have a better one, please share!)

Amy’s Smoothie Recipe
Serving:
1 large glass*

1/2 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk. The liquid should just cover the top of the blender blades.
3 heaping spoonfuls of 0% vanilla Greek yogurt (I use Chobani). This should bring your liquids up to the 1 cup mark on the side of your blender.
1/4 scoop of protein powder (I’ve used the Arbonne brand and the Growing Naturals vanilla pea protein powder with good success.)
1 handful of baby kale and/or baby spinach

Using the liquefy setting on your blender, blend the above for 15-30 seconds.

Add each of the fruit below individually and blend after each addition until each fruit is incorporated and the mixture is smooth.

1 medium-sized banana
A handful of unsweetened whole frozen strawberries, about 6-7 strawberries
A small handful of frozen pineapple (I use Trader Joe’s pineapple tidbits)
A few frozen peach slices, about 4 slices (I use Trader Joe’s Freestone peaches)
A small handful of frozen blueberries, probably around 1/4 of a cup

I prefer to drink mine with a straw. And I like that the addition of strawberries removes the green look, so I can drink it without feeling like I’m an alien or something.

Voila! And enjoy. 🙂

XOXO,

Amy

*Now you know how I feel when I try to make a recipe that serves a family of six. 🙂