Small Golf and Psychiatric Conditions

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. Colorado weather is schizophrenic. Wednesday of last week was 70 some-odd degrees and sunny. Thursday of last week dumped snow on all of the out of doors in quantities of 1-4 inches.  Weird, weird, weird state. And state of mind.

The weekend before the snow was perfect (weather-wise) and my friends and I decided to take advantage of it. We played my favorite sport except for football and volleyball. Tired of guessing? It’s miniature golf. 🙂 Here’s the day in pictures so you can feel the warm rays of sunshine and friendly competition that we all felt that Sunday afternoon.

Katie and Stephanie all sisterly and stuff. That was before the competition part…I like these girls. They make everything fun. AND they were suprisingly patient with my many strokes.

Steph, Katie and Liz in the fortress of solitude. Or Davey Crockett’s fort. We couldn’t decide…although the lack of crystals and…you know…Superman kind of made the choice for us. Hey, a girl can hope, right?

Hands down THE most exciting play of the game. She would have gotten MVP for sure if we would have been playing in the Superbowl. Except if WE actually played in the Superbowl, it would show an amazing decline in American sports as we know it. I’m only speaking for myself. For all I know, Liz has the arm of John Elway. Or Peyton Manning. 🙂 But, back to the story. Gosh, stop letting me run down these rabbit trails!!

Okay, picture this. A miniature golf hole. A long straight row of fake grass, and at the end of it…a hole. Sounds easy, right? Here’s the twist. Halfway down the row is a “speed bump” of sorts for our little brightly covered golf balls to find their demise. Liz wasn’t deterred. She stepped right up,  and shot that ball forward. It caught air and then went directly IN THE HOLE! Coolest hole in one I’ve ever seen. Color me surpised.

Who won, you ask? Well, I like to think it’s not all about WINNING or LOSING but…who am I kidding. It’s completely about winning. And while got a hole in one on the first and last holes, the middle part was…well…not good. So, not good, in fact, that we had to adopt a mulligan policy. I will say, that I was not the only one to USE the mulligan policy, but I was the only one to use it the most. I say this with my head hung in shame because I always thought I was good at this game. It turns out, not so much…

And the bona fide winner is: KATIE! She’s the best, she’s the best! Hurrah! Hurrah! 

We snookered some poor chap into taking a group photo of us.

Long live the days of semi-spring weather!! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Small Golf and Psychiatric Conditions

  1. Sarah says:

    Colorado’s not the only schizophrenic state this past weekend! Oregon got snow after a previous week of sun (and snow in even parts of Oregon that practically NEVER see snow even in the winter). One of my friends in Canada also noticed the same phenomenon this week. Even, down here in SoCal it got overcast (not snow, but probably as close as we’ll get this late in the year) on Saturday for most of the day. Must have been some universal schizophrenic weather thing. 🙂

  2. Dad says:

    M, After spending time with you (AND YOUR CAMERA) in Washington D.C. (Over 200 pictures the first day), all the Miniature Golf story became background noise to my empathy for the chap that had to take your picture! 🙂

Leave a comment