Clump-a-cookie…and Happy Thanksgiving!

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!thanksgivingquote_craftaholicsanonymous.net

On a day rife with culinary perfection (turkey! stuffing! mashed potatoes! pumpkin pie (yuck, but who can argue with tradition?)!), I thought I’d share a brief but fond memory from the Haddock archives.

First, it should be known that I was a baker from a young age. Nothing went with Sunday football quite like chocolate chip cookies and I was often the one that mixed them up. When I was nine or ten, I did what I had done many times before. But when the cookies came out of the oven, they had spread, taking up the entire baking sheet.

I was quite upset (I was young, you see, and not as in control of my emotions as I am now. It’s terrifying to imagine, isn’t it?) and Mom tried to figure out what went wrong. After a few minutes of questioning, she discovered the culprit. Not only had I left out the salt and baking soda, I had also left out about half of the flour.

I’m not sure if it was an attempt to make me feel better by not chucking the cookies in the trash can or if it was my Mom’s steel will to not waste anything, but we scraped the cookies off and piled them on a plate.

That’s how these cookies became known as the “clump-a-cookie”, christened by my loving father.

May your desserts be in a clump-less form and your turkey comas be restful!

XOXO,

Amy

Leave a Reply

