Parks and Rec 4Eva, please and thank you.

I’ve long harbored a love of the show The Office (U.S). I ardently adore Jim and Pam and if I could hang out with them over a game of Uno or Settler’s of Catan, my life would be made complete. #jimandpamforever

Here’s the thing, though, I never watched the show to the very end. I had seen through season 6 as of this year and with the help of my dear friend, Netflix, I decided to rectify this situation.

I made it to the last episode (boy, they really scared me with that Jim and Pam stuff in the last season!) and wiped a tear through the last closing credits. Okay, and through most of the episode. I am nothing if not consistent.

The next night, I felt a little at a loss. So, I decided to try Parks and Recreation. Let me tell you guys, I was not super impressed. I went to work the next day and said as much to my friend Jessica who implored me to stick with it through the first season and I would not be sorry.

parksandrec

Since the first season is only 6 thirty-minute episodes and my social life is not as robust as it once was, I made the commitment. From season 2 on, I was completely and utterly enchanted. Seriously. The best comedy I’ve ever seen start to finish. Here’s why: Every single character is perfectly cast and wonderfully loveable. Unlike The Office where I cared a load for Jim and Pam and not necessarily a whit for Angela, Stanley, or Meredith, I like every single person and they bring so much to every episode! Alone they are amazing. Together, they are stupendous. I AM NOT KIDDING. Leslie Knope, Ron Swanson, Tom Haverford, April Ludgate, Andy Dwyer, Ann Perkins, Ben Wyatt, and Chris Traeger, and even Garry/Jerry/Terry won my heart and made me laugh.

Leslie Knope (Amy Poehler) is so earnestly earnest that the show is inspiring. No matter the obstacles that befall her beloved parks and recreation department or the city of Pawnee, she will fix it with a smile, hard work, an insanely organized binder, and a can-do spirit. She is fiercely loyal, efficient, driven, and cares too much about people for her own good. I heart her.

Ron Swanson (Nick Offerman) is a man’s man who does not believe in government, yet he is the head of the parks and recreation department. That in and of itself is hilarious. He’s a principled man who would rather spend his time alone with a big steak than be a party to someone’s shenanigans, and cannot abide lies. But he is full of sage advice, hearty wisdom, and has a heart of gold.

Tom Haverford (Aziz Ansari) is honestly pretty shallow guy, but he completely owns it. He’s drawn to fashion and living a lifestyle to which he has become accustomed. He’s always trying a new business venture and/or having a “treat yo self” day with his co-worker Donna. Some of my favorite moments are of Tom with his zany friend, Jean-Ralphio.

Andy Dwyer (Chris Pratt) is simply endearing and he and April (Aubrey Plaza) are so MFEO (made for each other).

Ben Wyatt (Adam Scott) is adorkable and his creation of the game the Cones of Dunshire make me love him forever.

Lastly, Chris Traeger (Rob Lowe) is so forcefully positive that it makes you want to sit him down and tell him terrible things about the world. And I love that he uses everyone’s first and last names at all times. LITRALLY.

All in all, if you’ve been avoiding Parks and Rec, I highly suggest that you do something about that. Because it is so funny and heartwarming and incredibly acted. Now if they will only put that darn last season up on Netflix…

XOXO,

Amy

3 thoughts on “Parks and Rec 4Eva, please and thank you.

Leave a Reply

