2 Worship Songs that Changed My Year

It’s it funny how music can cut through it all? The simple combination of language and notes can echo your heart and put into words what is deeply felt – sometimes words you didn’t even know you needed. And the music: the harmonies, the rests, the crescendos and decrescendos. They play their part by driving the message home in a way that can be remembered long after the strains of melody fade from the air.

Music has always been a solace for me. This year – the last six months, really – have been challenging for me on an emotional and spiritual level. For me to admit that to you takes something because I’m constantly realizing that there are far worse trials that others are facing right now. I feel that makes my problems woefully small in comparison. But I am not those people and this is the path the Lord has given me to walk. He knows me best, after all, and I find that the obstacles I encounter reveal that in spectacular fashion – namely, how they show up in my life and rock my world. During these last months, these songs lodged into my head and found their way into the deep places in my soul where I needed truth the most.

Sovereign Over Us” by Aaron Keyes from the album Dwell

This song was on repeat for several weeks in my car. I sang along just as often as I cried along as different parts of the lyrics resonated at different junctures of processing. It’s hard to pull out just one line that stuck with me because at first it was “His plans are still to prosper; He’s not forgotten us”. The reminder that He was in it with me, this wasn’t a needless path of pain it was leading to something that was “for my good and for His glory”. But now the line that unleashes my praise every time is “faithful forever, perfect in love, You are sovereign over us.” That constance of faithfulness that will never waver, no matter what I’m going through…well, I clung to that with my whole self and I still do. I felt His faithfulness like I never have before.

sovereign over usVerse 1

There is strength within the sorrow; there is beauty in our tears

And You meet us in our mourning, with a love that casts out fear

You are working in our waiting, sanctifying us

When beyond our understanding, you’re teaching us to trust

Chorus

Your plans are still to prosper, you’ve not forgotten us

You’re with us in the fire and the flood

Faithful forever, perfect in love

You are sovereign over us

Verse 2

You are wisdom unimagined, who could understand your ways?

Reigning high above the heavens, reaching down in endless grace

You’re the lifter of the lowly, compassionate and kind

You surround and you uphold me, your promises are my delight

Bridge

Even what the enemy means for evil,  you turn it for our good

You turn it for our good and for your glory

Even in the valley, you are faithful, you’re working for our good

You’re working for our good and for your glory

 

“From the Inside Out” by Kristian Stanfill from the album Hello

(Originally recorded by Hillsong)

Gosh, this song. I feel it so perfectly sums up what I want for my life. The line “a thousand times I’ve failed, still your mercy remains” makes me think of all the years I’ve followed him and how content I was to keep a faith that attempted to come from the outside in. The knowledge I have in my head that does not equal spiritual maturity. The relative safety I felt in keeping God in the black and white box I constructed. Stepping outside the lines of that comfort level this year has been terrifying and…SO WORTH IT. To feel “caught in His grace” despite my missteps. To be lovingly nudged by his Spirit to change direction little by little until I found myself moving in the right direction. To feel His presence of calm certainty navigating me through the waves. Coming out of crisis, I don’t want to lose that closeness. Instead, I want to lose even more of myself in bringing Him praise…but this time from the inside out. That’s something I can’t manufacture, no matter how hard I try, so “in my heart and my soul, I give Him control”. And usually I snatch it right back again – it’s a little game I play, but one I hope I get worse at over time.

inside outVerse 1

A thousand times I’ve failed, still your mercy remains

Should I stumble again, still I’m caught in your grace

Everlasting. You’re light will shine when all else fades

Never ending, your glory goes beyond all fame

Verse 2

Your will above all else, my purpose remains

The art of losing myself in bringing you praise

Everlasting. Your light will shine when all else fades

Never ending. Your glory goes beyond all fame

Chorus 1

In my heart and my soul, I give you control

Consume me from the inside out, Lord

Let justice and praise become my embrace

To love you from the inside out

Chorus 2

Everlasting. Your light will shine when all else fades

Never ending. Your glory goes beyond all fame

And the cry of my heart is to bring you praise

From the inside out, oh my soul cries out, Lord

Chorus 2

My heart and my soul, I give you control

Consume me from the inside out, Lord

Let justice and praise become my embrace

To love you from the inside out

Honestly, I’m grateful. I’m such a linear, people-pleasing, rule follower so steps of faith have never been my strong suit. They still aren’t! But what I’ve discovered is that God is bigger than my weaknesses and I will never stop being thankful for that. Never ever. (I hope.)

Do you have a favorite worship song that you’ve clung to this year? If so, do share with a link in the comments…there can never be enough worship, right?!?!

XOXO,

Amy

2 thoughts on “2 Worship Songs that Changed My Year

Leave a Reply

