A Few of My Favorite Things: 2014 Edition

Please excuse the marketer in me. I just can’t help it! I have to tell you about the things I love on the off-chance you’ll love it too and our friendship will be deepened by this common bond that transcends…okay, so I’m getting a little ahead of myself.

One of the great things about life is discovering awesome new things. Some things that you discover are not awesome, but this post is not about that. Let’s move swiftly forward.

(Are you getting tired of my lists yet? I feel like every post is a list of some kind. I guess I’m also a list-maker. Which actually isn’t news, it’s just that the list-maker me is merging with the blogger-me and it’s sort of just dawning on me…)

Things I love:

DominionGame1. The game Dominion. Now, maybe you’ll say “Ugh, Amy! I just hate board games.” And I’ll say “Aha! This is not a board game. It’s a card game.” And you’ll totally be annoyed, but I’ll have made my point. What I love about Dominion is that there are a lot of action cards…basically throughout the game, you’re building your deck of cards to play with by buying cards that give you specific actions you can take, getting money, and using those things together. Every type of card in the original game set can be used in different combinations to play different “tracks” of the game. I love the variety. I love that every game I play is different. I love playing games. I love playing games. I love playing games. Especially this one. The end.


HopeinaTube2. Eye cream.
 My friend Stephanie told me several years ago that I needed to start applying eye cream to my face before I went to bed. So, like a good student I purchased said product and proceeded to put it right in my medicine cabinet. Sure, I pulled it out a few times since then, but I’ve never used it regularly until this year. And let me tell you, people, I don’t have before and after pictures or anything but I swear this stuff works! The eye-space on my face is definitely younger-looking. I think. I’m pretty sure. Anyway, it can’t hurt, right?

twodots3. Two Dots. Now, I just heard about this game last night, so I’m relatively new to the whole thing. I downloaded the Two Dots app and have been playing the game over the course of 12 hours or so. As far as I can tell, it’s a little bit like Candy Crush in its objective, but instead of weird candy pieces that never looked like candy to me (I’m sorry, but that sprinkled looking thing is a donut and not any kind of candy I’ve ever seen…), this game uses different colored dots. And you have to connect them to accomplish certain tasks. What I like so far is that it’s simple to do, seems like it will come in handy when I’m waiting for friends to arrive at a restaurant or killing time at the airport, and it compliments me every time a pass a level. “Genius!” Two Dots will say to me. Or “Superb!” All of which is nice and makes me feel good about myself.

That’s all I’ve got so far, but I might have more stuff I’ve discovered and loved this year. Stay tuned!

I’m right under the wire of this blogging deadline, so now I’ll bid you adieu. Have a happy Sunday!

XOXO,

Amy

3 thoughts on “A Few of My Favorite Things: 2014 Edition

Leave a Reply

