The Good ‘Ole Days of Yore

I’m at risk of sounding like a 65 year old woman, but I’m going to say it anyway: They just don’t make TV shows like they used to. I grew up on Nick at Nite with shows like The Patty Duke Show, Green Acres, Bewitched, I Dream of Jeannie, The Andy Griffith Show, The Dick Van Dyke Show, The Mary Tyler Moore Show, The Donna Reed Show , Leave It to Beaver, The Flying Nun, The Bob Newhart Show, and many more.

My favorite was The Dick Van Dyke show, hands down. I just loved the whole writing gang – Buddy and Sally and their torture of poor old Mel…they were just hilarious!

And Mary Tyler Moore as Rob Petrie’s wife? She was the best ever. The only downside to this brilliant cast was the unfortunate soul that played their son, Ritchie. He had the most annoying voice I’ve ever heard. Otherwise, though, the Petries were a pitch-perfect 60’s suburban family where real life was the catalyst for humor and drama. And Dick Van Dyke with his gangly arms and legs, funny facial expressions, and the suspense of will he or won’t he trip over the foot stool in the opening credits? Classic, my friends. Classic.

My second favorite? Well, that would have to be Leave It to Beaver. Gosh, Wally and the Beav got into so many hilarious scrapes and Beaver’s perspective on life was just precocious and utterly that of a young boy. And don’t even get me started on that rascal, Eddie Haskell!

Finally, I think it’d have to be the dry wit of The Bob Newhart Show. I love the second clip when he takes all his patients that are afraid of flying on a trip…it’s completely amazing.

Well, watching all the clips on YouTube that I could find has made me really sleepy so I’m going to leave you now. Do you have a favorite classic show? I’d love to hear it!

XOXO,

Amy

3 thoughts on “The Good ‘Ole Days of Yore

  1. stef says:

    we were a big nick at night family in the 80s/90s. we were all about leave it to Beaver and I love Lucy. now they play the Cosby show and friends! that makes me feel old

  2. Dad says:

    You have a very extensive memory and great taste in shows & clips! My personal favorite thoughts on the days of yore were watching what I would call, “Our Three Girls!

    You, Lindsay, and Brittany playing office, and waitress, and as you call it, “whatnot”. You even had a pile of authentic old restaurant checks (not sure where you got them), a pen to take the orders and a cash register to ring them up. Oh, and let’s not forget the fake food and tea parties…and you letting Lindsay be the boss…mainly because she wouldn’t play if you wouldn’t make that concession. Who could ever forget the episode of Lindsay making Brittany be a mommy by putting a football helmet under her shirt. Then delivering the baby by gouging Brittany’s stomach out as she jammed the helmet in and down and back out from under the shirt. I think the pain Lindsay inflicted on Brittany may have rivaled that of a real delivery! It may have scarred her for life. Literally. The good ole days for sure! 😊

Leave a Reply

