The Music of Christmas

By now you know that I live and die with my music playlists. Am I being dramatic? I don’t think I am. Music. is. awesome. sauce. I don’t know if it’s because my sister Lindsay has already baked her Thanksgiving pies AND finished her Christmas shopping or not, but I’m starting to feel hopelessly behind. I didn’t know if the Christmas spirit could find me this year, especially since I recently decided that pulling out all my decorations would not be worth the amount of time I had to enjoy them before I fly home for Christmas.

I felt ho-hum. I felt blah. I felt meh. So, I’ve been in search of a different sort of Christmas playlist this year. Something fresh. Something new. And I think I’ve struck gold. First of all, I discovered that Pentatonix put out a Christmas album. Done and DONE. Secondly, I found that Sara Jackson-Holman had a Christmas EP. HELLO. And then, to put the icing on the proverbial cake, I realized that The Civil Wars had a few Christmas songs to throw into the merriment. Therefore, I present to you my Christmas playlist. You’ll notice that The Carol of the Bells is on the list twice. It’s just that good. Trust me.

I’ll share my Spotify playlist on Facebook for those of you that are into that sort of thing. (If you have a playlist, I’d love to hear it!) Or you can click on the interactive links below. This just in, the internets are not a fad.

Without further adieu…

1. Carol of the Bells. Artist: the bird and the bee/Album: Carol of the Bells. (See what I mean? The song was worthy of an entire ALBUM’S name.)

2. Angels We Have Heard On High. Artist: Sara Jackson-Holman/Album: A Very Merry EP

3. Space Christmas. Artist: Allo Darlin’/Album: A Very Cherry Christmas (This is maybe my favorite Christmas music discovery of this season…so offbeat! So awesome.)

4. I Celebrate the Day. Artist: Relient K./Album: Let It Snow Baby, Let It Reindeer (They win the most witty album title name…naturally.)

5. Carol of the Bells. Artist: Pentatonix/Album: PTXmas Deluxe Edition. (Not sure what is so deluxe about it. Maybe it comes with fries.)

6. Merry Christmas Darling. Artist: Christina Perri/Album: A Very Merry Perri Christmas. (Okay, so she’s clever, too. But she didn’t have to reach too far for it, so I still award Relient K with the cleverest album title.)

7. It’s Christmas Time Again. Artist: Backstreet Boys/Album: It’s Christmas Time Again. (Or, as Emily from Gilmore Girls called them, The Backside Boys. What’s a Christmas mix without a boy band?! Not much of a mix at all, I’d say.)

8. Happy Christmas (War Is Over). Artist: Maroon 5/Album: Now That’s What I Call Christmas 4. (Not sure I believe Mr. Levine when his voice goes lower. But overall, a pretty cool edition to the list.)

9. O Come, O Come Emmanuel. Artist: The Civil Wars/Album: Tracks in the Snow. (I HEART this version of the song. The Civil Wars nail harmonies better than any duo ever.)

10. Christmas Time. Artist: Christina Aguilera/Album: My Kind of Christmas. (Who says you can’t put dance music on a playlist? Not Xtina!)

11. Little Drummer Boy. Artist: Pentatonix/Album: PTXmas Deluxe Edition. (Gotta appreciate the irony…it’s an A Cappella group so there are NO DRUMS! Love it.)

12. Winter Song. Artist: Sara Bareilles & Ingrid Michaelson/Album: The Hotel Cafe Presents…Winter Songs. (Haunting. Gorgeous. Perfect.)

13. My Dear Acquaintance (A Happy New Year). Artist: Regina Spektor/Album: Gift Wrapped: Regifted. (Token New Year song! Move over, Auld Lang Syne.)

Okay, what’s your favorite Christmas song of all time…GO!

XOXO,

Amy

One thought on “The Music of Christmas

Leave a Reply

