Katniss Everdeen for President

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again…I would be the first one killed in the Hunger Games. I mean since verbal harpoons would likely do me very little good, I think we can all agree upon this truth.

As I mentioned yesterday, I went to The Hunger Games: Catching Fire movie last night with my good friend, Tiffany. I left straight from work to get in line at the theater and stalwartly took my place on the hard, filthy movie theater floor directly below the extra popcorn butter dispenser*. It was touch and go there for a while, I’m not going to lie. Kernels flew.

For her part, Tiffany grabbed us a yummy dinner from Panera and, let me tell you, soup is particularly delectable in 16 degree weather. Trust me on this. As we slurped on our dinner, grateful to not be in the frigid weather outside (although Tiffany had brought us parkas, just in case), I realized that my sitting on the floor abilities aren’t what they used to be. This was compounded by the fact that we were surrounded by middle-schoolers doing their trig homework and their knitting chaperon mothers. Yes, they were knitting. No joke.

CatchingFireIt should be said that I am really not a huge midnight showing kind of person. The crowds are not my favorite and watching a movie with pre-teens and teenagers that giggle, squeal, and “wooo!” when their favorite heart throb comes on-screen is enough to induce eye-rolling. Plus, I am not a dresser-upper for these types of things. I think it’s from my years of never going trick-or-treating, but I’m really alright with that. However, sometimes the anticipation of waiting in line with others that are as eager as you are (or more) to see the movie is a fun experience and that was true last night.

By the time we entered the theater, forget about watching the movie, I was just grateful to have a cushioned seat and no one trying to infringe upon my personal space. And then the movie started and I forgot all about the arduous path we had taken to get to that moment. Because, guys, the movie was SO good! All two-and-half hours of it. Firstly, I love Jennifer Lawrence. If someone disagrees with me, we can go to the mattresses on it. The turning of YA books into movies only works with a strong heroine/hero at the helm and she really delivers. Secondly, I also had a personal victory by only crying ONE time throughout the entire film. Go me. Thirdly (and yes, I know it’s girly), the costumes, hair, and make-up were ah-mah-zing. 

Don’t get me wrong, the series is definitely bleak. As the books go on (and the movies, too), the atmosphere plunges deeper and deeper into the gray until that feeling penetrates your soul. I know that doesn’t sound like a good time, necessarily, but I think it’s the backdrop of the darkness that allows the good qualities that our main characters possess to shine through so brightly. Friendship. Hope. Love. Care for others above yourself. Courage. Level-headedness. Sacrifice. These shining beacons makes the journey poignant and meaningful…while the scenery surrounding it rightly, at times, fills you with horror.

I enjoyed the second movie even more than the first. Peeta rocked my face off, and I can see how Prim was perfectly cast. Can’t wait until she has a bigger role in the next film. So if you’re into this kind of thing, make haste to your nearest theater. I don’t think you’ll be sorry!

XOXO,

Amy

*Why is there an EXTRA butter dispenser? I heard one lady bemoan the fact that there wasn’t more salt for her to add and I immediately felt like I was going to have a heart attack on her behalf.

One thought on “Katniss Everdeen for President

  1. Dad says:

    M, Sounds like you had a blast with Tiffany at the movies. I would be interested to know when you put your face back on, after it’s been rocked off so many times! 🙂

Leave a Reply

