Cookies and a Movie

I think the last movie I saw in the theater may have been “Star Trek: Into Darkness”. Don’t judge me, Star Trek is awesome and Benedict Cumberbatch is an ah-maze-ing actor. But a few days ago, a friend asked if I’d want to see a new movie that’s out called “About Time”. At that point, I knew nothing at all about the movie but I trust my friend, so I gave an immediate ‘yes’ to her entertainment proposal.

AboutTimeEven when I sat down in the theater to see the film, I knew almost nothing about it. I knew it had something to do with time travel. I think that’s it…but that’s kind of the way I prefer it sometimes. Isn’t it so nice to experience a story that you’ve never seen before with few to none expectations about what lies ahead? I find it refreshing. Plus, since I’m not an extreme skateboarder or a professional flaming baton twirler, it’s one of the few adventure outlets I have.

For those of you that take your adventure in different places, here’s a brief summary of the movie:

At the age of 21, Tim Lake (Domhnall Gleeson) discovers he can travel in time… The night after another unsatisfactory New Year party, Tim’s father (Bill Nighy) tells his son that the men in his family have always had the ability to travel through time. Tim can’t change history, but he can change what happens and has happened in his own life-so he decides to make his world a better place…by getting a girlfriend. Sadly, that turns out not to be as easy as you might think. Moving from the Cornwall coast to London to train as a lawyer, Tim finally meets the beautiful but insecure Mary (Rachel McAdams). They fall in love, then an unfortunate time-travel incident means he’s never met her at all. So they meet for the first time again-and again-but finally, after a lot of cunning time-traveling, he wins her heart. Tim then uses his power to create the perfect romantic proposal, to save his wedding from the worst best-man speeches, to save his best friend from professional disaster and to get his pregnant wife to the hospital in time for the birth of their daughter, despite a nasty traffic jam outside Abbey Road. But as his unusual life progresses, Tim finds out that his unique gift can’t save him from the sorrows and ups and downs that affect all families, everywhere. There are great limits to what time travel can achieve, and it can be dangerous too. – Written by Universal Pictures

I found the film quirky and charming. The main character, Tim, is bumbling and lovable in the beginning but gradually gains confidence with each step and major decision he makes in his life. His family is completely odd (as most families are, let’s face it) but utterly loving. The plot smacks of real life awkwardness and finding your way. The time travel piece, which could be off-putting to some at first glance, is really an amazing plot device. I’m also a sucker for character development over a long period of time and this movie has that in spades. I laughed out loud in places and I think one of the reasons I liked the movie so much is that it portrayed an authentic life but not in a depressing way. There was a happiness and a lightness to the film that was really compelling. As in real life, sadness tinges certain story elements but the overall tone of the movie is hopeful and buoyant. I, of course, shed tears. But that probably doesn’t mean much to you at this point, eh?

cookieAll-in-all, the movie is a reminder that every day is a day worth living in such a way that we wouldn’t need to repeat it even if we could…and that the beauty in life doesn’t lie in the grandiose, but the sweet and simple mundane. I’d definitely recommend it.*

I also made some cookies as movie snacks for my friends and they were maybe the best cookies I’ve ever made. I can’t take too much credit as the recipe came from someone far more gifted than I. But I knew as soon as I poured the browned butter into the dark brown sugar and breathed in the scent, that these cookies were going to be well-worth the effort. Of which there wasn’t a lot. The browned butter piece was the most time-consuming.  Anyhow, here’s a link to the recipe for the Browned Butter Salted Carmel Mocha Cookies. These little guys are church potluck approved. 🙂 They can also be found on my “Cookie Monster” Pinterest board for the pinning inclined.

{*I will warn sensitive viewers that there is language throughout (especially one character who rents a room to Tim) and a few “scenes” but in my recollection, they aren’t explicit.}

 

One thought on “Cookies and a Movie

Leave a Reply

