A Few Good Things…

Welcome to November, everyone! When I first started up the ‘ole blog it was not my intention to ONLY post during NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month), but seven years later here we are. I’m sure a ton of tiny little decisions led to this moment, but I gotta say it makes the month of November feel more special, right?! So. Day one.

First of all, it’s practically Christmas. I don’t know how that happened. One minute I’m committing myself to a New Year’s resolution to read more, the next I’m realizing that I have scant weeks left to make that goal a reality. It’s tough being me, guys.

Now, unlike Jack Nicholson, I think you can all handle the truth. Herewith, a list of some really good things in my life right now that you should try:

1. New breakfast. Put away your Hobbit/LOTR references, folks. This isn’t SECOND breakfast, it’s just my latest breakfast food discoveries. Since I have been denied the luxury of a stay-at-home cook to cater to my every breakfast-y whim, I’m driven down the quick and hearty sustenance route, usually consuming said meal at my desk as I field the latest author request in my inbox. Okay, just kidding. I was never a candidate for having a live-in cook, so let’s just call it what it is: I’m an early morning hater. Or as Avril Lavigne would say, an early morning H8R. Some people awaken with the sun, putter around their house leisurely watching the morning news and baking muffins from scratch before calmly driving to work. I, on the other hand, emerge from my bed like a creature from the swamp, extracting every precious moment of sleep possible and sometime sacrificing beauty in the process. Now…where was I? Oh, right. Breakfast. Well, Target once again proves itself the happiest place on earth with the discovery of their Good Food Made Simple line. Delicious frozen foodstuffs like egg white breakfast burritos and steel cut oatmeal now pack my freezer. Done and done.

Also, I submit to you that there is no better cereal offering than Cracklin’ Oat Bran. For one thing, the box is smaller than most cereal boxes and that should tip you off right away…they are hording this stuff like it’s gold! Here’s what I like: they are like mini oatmeal cookies, they are in the shape of a squared “O”, they can be eaten with or without milk, and their name contains the word “cracklin'”. I rest my case.

2. Fuzzy socks. Here in colorful Colorado, we’ve started to dip below 30 degrees in the nighttime hours. The air is crisp and I don’t care if it’s Jack Frost that’s doing the nipping at my nose or not, because being cold is not charming. It’s preventable with fuzzy socks. Most of all, I kind of love that fuzzy socks need not match your clothes. What can I say? I like living on the edge.

CoffeeCozy4. Coffee cozy. A paper Starbucks cup is a thing of beauty all on its own. But when I slip this little cozy on my cup I feel simultaneously green with earth-consciousness AND fashionable. I don’t even know how to describe this to you, but it’s kind of like adding glitter to my day. It’s like saying “Yes, I’m a responsible adult, but don’t put me in mom jeans yet!” Luckily, my friend Diana makes these up so I can order a different design/color anytime I want. And now you can, too. You’re welcome!

5. Compressed air. Guys. I looked at my computer mouse at work today and I was completely grossed out. But there’s something intensely satisfying about cleaning out your keyboard and/or mouse with a large can of compressed air. That little straw-thing directing the air gets right in there and sends dust and crumbs a-scattering. Plus, the noise is gratifying. Compressed air is kind of the power tool of the office cubicle. And I salute it.

6. Hashtags. I know that last year I was not on the Twitter bandwagon. But there is one thing that I can get behind, and that is the hashtag. I don’t know who invented this method of communicating, but I take my headband off to them (I don’t wear hats). Everything is better with a hashtag! Everything. An email. A face-to-face conversation. A text. A social media post. #hashtagsrockmyfaceoff

2-piece-mini-silicone-spatula-spoon-set7. Tiny spatulas. At first glance, these tiny tools appear to be unsung heroes of my kitchen catch-all drawer. But let me tell you, they are the #bestinventionever.  I use them almost every time I bake. Which is a LOT. Now, this might seem silly to you, but having these teensy spatulas can be helpful in getting dough, etc. off of their full-sized counterpart. Don’t judge me. I love my tiny spatulas and you aren’t going to talk me out of it.

Now, what good things should I know about? I’m counting on you. Don’t let me down.

4 thoughts on “A Few Good Things…

  1. rickgingrich says:

    I’m right there with you on compressed air, although mainly I use it to freeze things… Also, thank you for reminding me about NaBloPoMo!

  2. Dad says:

    Wondering how long you’ll put up with the oversized Coffee Cozy! SB had a reusable cozy and I bought it…trying to be a conservationist (influenced by the Pretty Girl). It only lasted 1 cup of java before it hit the GC (that’s Garbage Can).

Leave a Reply

