In Aid of the Kitchen

For some years now, I’ve had a certain item on all of my Christmas lists. That request has gone unfulfilled, mostly because of the expense of said gift. Plus, there were more pressing things on my lists of yore. Like studded snow tires so I could take to the icy streets of Colorado without losing life and limb (safety first, people). Or a smartphone…let’s face it, it was time for me to enter the 21st century.

Earlier this week, my dear mother called me to tell me that I needed to check my porch for a pre-Christmas present arrival. When I wasn’t able to get my dad to tell me what the present WAS in exchange for information on his present from me, I impatiently waited for the package to arrive. And tonight it did indeed arrive. And with it came the answer to all my hopes and dreams and everything I’ve ever wanted out of my life. And I may or may not have shed tears when I ripped open the package to discover its contents.

What is it?

A KitchenAid stand mixer. But not just any KitchenAid stand mixer, the AQUA BLUE one. And it’s the prettiest thing I’ve ever seen.

kitchenaid

Like most girls, I assumed that I would get a KitchenAid mixer the normal way–a wedding registry. It’s a bride’s rite of passage, after all. But when that didn’t happen, I began to realize that not only married people baked things. I was baking a lot of items and making fresh whipped cream with my little hand mixer like it was going out of style.

AND, my friend Stephanie got a KitchenAid and then the next year she was married. SO. So. You might want to start saving up for my wedding gift now. I’m just sayin’.

kitchenaidinkitchen

Doesn’t it look so perfect in the kitchen? Isn’t it so gorgeous?

I started reading the manual tonight and I’ve already learned a lot. For instance, the first item in the Important Safeguards section is to “Read all instructions”. Way ahead of you, manual writers! Also, I found out that I can be killed or seriously injured if I don’t immediately follow instructions and I’ve been thoroughly educated as to what safety symbols look like.

Did you guys know that you’re not supposed to stick your hand into the mixer while the beaters are going? Apparently, failure to adhere to this guideline can result in broken bones, cuts or bruises. That is shocking. 

In the meantime, I’m looking forward to memorizing the ways to keep the newest addition to my kitchen running strong for a very long time.

THANKS, MOM AND DAD! YOU ROCK MY FACE OFF (though I think its important to note that I will never put my face into the mixing bowl while the beaters are going. I’m sure as I continue to read, that’ll be discouraged).

LOVE YOU!

2 thoughts on “In Aid of the Kitchen

  1. Linda Haddock says:

    M,
    You rock my face off! The reaction was TOTALLY worth it! PRICELESS!! I will never forget it. Dad says your reaction was a fitting end to Nablopomo! Priceless!
    A shout out to face time!
    Love,
    Mom and Dad

Leave a Reply

