Christmas Lists

In my family, we exchange Christmas lists. We didn’t always…I forget when we started. Maybe it’s when my middle sister and I headed out on our own. Nevertheless, every year around Thanksgiving, my Mom sends a vaguely threatening (but extremely loving) email about how we are to send her our Christmas lists as soon as humanly possible.

Now, you must understand that my Mom is the most gracious and kind individual on the face of the planet. And we girls happen to know that and may or may not procrastinate on sending our lists until the eleventh hour. To do this, we employ the “If you give me your and Dad’s lists then I’ll send you mine” strategy knowing full well that my parents really would be extremely happy if we didn’t get them a thing but were simply all together for Christmas. Of course, we’d never let them get away with that. We love them way too much and Christmas is the perfect time to show that love with a shiny gift picked out with them in mind.

This year, though. Ahhh, this year my Mom was ready for me. And when I whipped out my “we need your and Dad’s lists first” routine, she foiled me by sending them pretty much immediately. I had been handily beaten at my own game, and I must admit that after being stunned I was a little panicked. The cushion for creating my list dissolved in front of my eyes.

But when my sister Brittany and I took a quick look at the list, we discovered requests for a handful of gift cards and little else. Not many options, if you ask me. So Brittany took it on herself to talk with our dearest mother about this travesty and she sent us a new list right away. The items added? Gloves and hangers. And it just made me laugh because that is so my Mom. I wish I could give her a project for Christmas! She loves those. And I love her. Can’t wait to spend time together over the holidays.

And may I be just like her someday.

4 thoughts on “Christmas Lists

  1. Dad says:

    Nice blog M.

    Could the “list” process be the functional equivalent to a customer delegation coming to your office for a tour and introductions, where you have to remember 5 or 10 people’s names and they only have to remember 1, yours?

    It’s a common know fact that the older you get, the poorer your memory becomes, it’s even more pronounce when the number of things to remember (Christmas gift ideas) become more numerous, like…say…having 3 daughters and then one gets married, adds a son and 2 granddaughters?? Mom has a bunch of lists to remember….you just have 1, hers! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m just sayin’…

    AML,Dad

  2. Awesome Cousin says:

    No worries M, I gave her a project for christmas ๐Ÿ˜› and the next year to follow, haha I asked for a blanket like the one she made you and Toada so she’ll stay busy for a while. ๐Ÿ™‚ and I think these lists need to be extended to awesome cousins… Just sayin

  3. Jonni says:

    Amy I love your blogs and your mama. Thanks for sharing. I bet hers is alphabetized as well. Love you all enjoy your Christmas. Jonni

Leave a Reply

