Listen, Siri…

I used to make fun of people with smart phones. I’d be all like, “All those people do is play with their phones! All I need my phone to do is make calls and create and receive texts.” And my friends and co-workers were all like, “Amy, you be WHACK. You need a smart phone. Enter this century, please.” But I stood my ground.

But then…I changed my mind. I’m a girl! We’re allowed. And I have to admit that I was wrong. Verrry wrong. My smart phone is the best thing to happen to me in a long time. It’s just so convenient. And helpful. Here are a few things I love about it:

1. My Shazaam app…I love being able to hold it up to a song that’s being played on the radio or in a store and it identifies the song and the artist and gives me the opportunity to download the song right then and there. Plus, iTunes on the iPhone gives me the ability to change up my playlists or create a new one. Awesome sauce.

2. FaceTime…Best.Invention.Ever. I can see my family even though they all live in different states and connect with my adorable nieces. Plus, I can ask my mom advice about baking (and show her what I’m taking about), get my Dad’s opinion about my air ducts, and ask my sister Brittany her thoughts about my latest craft project. Pretty ah-mah-zing.

3. The built-in camera…It’s so great to be able to snap a picture and immediately text it or email it out to someone that would like to have it.

4. Having the internet wherever I go…I can pull up my latest nail polish cover from my Pinterest board, look up the recipe on that one blog while I’m at the grocery store, settle a bet about trivia, etc.

5. Being able to get driving directions step by step on my phone. The MapQuest app is actually better than “Maps” for iPhone, but either way it’s been a lifesaver more times than once.

The smart phone that I got was the iPhone 4S and I really like it–partly because I have a really cute case. I think the Droid and the Galaxy phones look cool, too, but I’m pretty happy with my iPhone. Except, I have a bone to pick with Siri.

You know this commercial?

And this one?

They infuriate me. I’m not sure if I got Siri’s evil cousin, Miri or what, but Siri does not like to help me as much as she likes to help Zooey Deschanel and Samuel L. Jackson. When I’m desperate for help and I pull out my phone as a last result, here’s the response I usually get.

“I’m really sorry about this, but I can’t take any requests right now.” FIRST of all, she doesn’t sound the least bit sorry. And isn’t her ONLY job to take requests?

The talk-to-text capability is pretty sweet, but only when it works. Sometimes you get the scrolling dots of death and that just means it would have been faster to pull to the side of the road, create the text, send it, and be on you way before the spiffy feature has time to do its thing.

In the grand scheme of things, I realize that this is not a big deal. But it’s still irritating. And I would like to tell the world that, despite Apple’s commercials, Siri is not all that and a bag of chips.

But that’s just one girl’s opinion.

2 thoughts on “Listen, Siri…

Leave a Reply

