Crazy for Zucchini

I used to eat peas for breakfast. No, really. I did!

I don’t do that anymore, but I have found a new vegetable that I can’t get enough of. Yes, it’s zucchini. I love it as an appetizer, as a dessert or breakfast food, as a side dish, in a sauce, as a pasta substitute…you name it. I think I love it so much because it tastes so fresh and it is so versatile! It’s a super mild vegetable, so maybe that’s why I like it more than lima beans or okra (both of which I detest).

Here are just two of my favorite zucchini recipes:

Zucchini “Fries” (courtesy of Pinterest and the Confections of a Foodie Bride blog)

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups Panko breadcrumbs
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 lb zucchini, cut into 4-5-inch sticks

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 and line a baking sheet with parchment (or whatever non-stick method you prefer).
  2. Place flour in a large zipper bag.
  3. Whisk eggs with 2 Tbsp water and place in a shallow dish.
  4. Place Panko, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and cayenne pepper in a shallow dish and mix to combine.
  5. Place zucchini in the bag with the flour and shake until well coated. Dip the zucchini into the egg and then into the panko, turning to coat well.
  6. Place breaded zucchini on the baking sheet.
  7. Bake 18-20 minutes, until golden brown.
  8. Serve with your favorite dipping sauce (we like ranch… and barbecue sauce).
  9. They’re best the first day, but to store leftovers, store in a single layer on a plate, wrapped with Ziploc. Reheat at 375 degrees for 5-7 minutes, until heated through.

Zucchini and Yellow Squash Sausage Marinara

I’m sure I’m not the first person to put these ingredients together, but I didn’t find this recipe anywhere. I just put it together as I went. Pretty basic, but one of my favorites.

Ingredients

  • 2 small to medium-ish zucchini,
  • 2 small to medium-ish yellow squash, , cut lengthwise and then in half medallions
  • 1 jar of marinara sauce (what?!? so, I cheat :)). I usually use Prego.
  • 1-2 tsp. minced fresh garlic
  • Sage pork or turkey sausage
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Garlic salt
  • Olive oil

Directions

  1. Cut your zucchini and yellow squash lengthwise and then in half medallions
  2. Pour about a tablespoon of olive oil in a saute pan and add the minced garlic
  3. Heat and brown the garlic on medium heat for a minute or two
  4. Add zucchini and yellow squash to the pan
  5. Season with garlic salt, salt, and pepper
  6. Cook until the zucchini and squash is cooked but not squishy
  7. In a separate pan, brown the sausage. Drain if there is an excess of grease. A little in the bottom of the pan is fine, though.
  8. Combine the squash/zucchini mixture with the sausage and add to sauce. Warm.
  9. Add to your favorite kind of cooked pasta.

DELICIOUS!

And you know what I discovered today? That Whole Foods sells a bigger size container of blueberry Noosa yogurt AND that they sell zucchini bread! Score.

So now you know. My love and obsession of zucchini has been unleashed. And if you peruse my “Dinner Ideas” Pinterest board, you’ll know that it’s never really been undercover.

Here’s the question, though. What vegetable did you dread eating when you were a kid?

(P.S. Part of the reason I love zucchini is because it’s so fun to spell. Zucchini. Zucchini. :))

2 thoughts on “Crazy for Zucchini

  1. stef says:

    YAY! i’m right there with you! Zucchini is my fave veg too! breaded and baked/or fried is the best but its soo good grilled and dipped in ranch. and i like how it’s a “new” vegetable

Leave a Reply

