5 Things I Love About Winter

Yes, you heard me right. Love. About WINTER. In the past, I know I’ve waxed eloquent to you all about the horrors of driving in the snow and the frigid temperatures that I have loathed. But let’s set that all aside because there really is something wonderful about this time of year. And I’m about to give you a few reasons why it’s so magical:

1. I can roll down the windows in my car and not worry about a bee/hornet/wasp flying in. Listen, I realize that I might sound a bit crazy on this one. But it has ACTUALLY happened to me. And it was terrifying. If not for some incredibly brave people at my church I would not have made it out of there alive. I am almost certain of it.

If you tell me I should have “kept calm and carried on”, I will punch you in your face. There was no way to maintain my composure in such a situation. GAH! Now I feel like I hear buzzing.

2. My friends stop suggesting that we “eat outside” at restaurants.Listen, I’m not immune to the fact that I live in a beautiful stretch of country. The mountains? The trees? The foliage? I get it and I agree that God’s handiwork here in Colorado is really something. But do you know what mountains, trees, and foliage breed? Bugs, that’s what. I have yet to get through a meal out-of-doors without some sort of creepy crawler invading. They know I’ve killed their friends and they are never going to allow me to live a normal life. It’s a perfectly lovely idea, but it never works out well for me.

3. The snow. You know, snow and I have had our issues in the past. But sometimes when I’m home for Christmas or just up really late and it starts to snow I’ll open the door and walk outside for a minute. The stillness in the air, the smell of the cold, and the flakes drifting gracefully down to earth? It’s hard to get that kind of serenity any other time of year. And when you can come back inside, pour a mug of hot cocoa, watch the snow fall, and turn on the twinkle-y Christmas lights? Best. Moment. Ever.

4. Planning for Christmas. Now, I love to receive gifts (who doesn’t?) but the most fun is pouring over my list of friends and family, trying to come up with the perfect gift for them. I genuinely enjoy every single second of it. I wish it could be my full-time job. And once I have their gift, I find it darn near impossible to keep it to myself. You think I’m kidding, but one Christmas I begged my sister to let me tell her what I got her and she wouldn’t let me. Some people like surprises, who knew?

5. Heading Home. I only really get to see my family once or twice a year, so I really look forward to being at home. Now, getting there is always a little bit of a challenge with airlines, rides to the airport, luggage, and delays. But every single second is worth it when I emerge from the plane bedraggled and weighed down with carry-ons and walk straight into my parent’s hug. Plus, Christmas always seems to fall at a time when I’m the most spent emotionally, physically, and creatively. Sometimes it’s nice to not have to be responsible for everything and to let your parents take care of you. And if that’s not enough, there’s always the frog-eyed salad. 🙂

6. Everywhere you go, people offer you hot beverages. The ginormous box of hot chocolate shows up in the break room. People all of a sudden have apple cider on hand. And don’t even get me started on the holiday teas.

It’s getting late or maybe I would have been able to think up TEN reasons I love winter. But let’s not be over-achievers, ‘mkay?

Now, what would make your list that didn’t make mine?

2 thoughts on “5 Things I Love About Winter

Leave a Reply

