Movies I Categorically Love…[Part 1 of 2]

It would be impossible for me to tell you my favorite book. There are too many categories to consider! Are you talking about my favorite book as a kid? My favorite book growing up? My favorite non-fiction book? My current favorite? It’s the same way with my favorite movies. So, I’ve broken them down in a list. I know you are all surprised since I hate lists so much. 😀

This list is VERY scientific, as you can see. There are algorithms and doodads and…okay. If you believe that, you don’t know me at all.

Here’s the deal, I rarely watch movies. I like them a lot and I’ve been known to attend a midnight showing at the theater in my day. But if I’m going to spend time watching something on TV, I generally lean towards television shows. I think it’s because I can get to know the characters over a much longer storyline than any movie, and I’m very character-driven when I pick out shows or books.

Another thing I should probably tell you is that I’m not big on old movies. Black and white movies or even classics were not really a part of my childhood and I can’t seem to get into them even now as an adult. I’m more of a modern movie watcher. I know some of you will be appalled. I’ve learned to live with that.

But sometimes, you just need to pop in a movie and settle back to watch and eat popcorn.

BEST MOVIE TO WATCH AGAIN AND AGAIN

A League of Their Own (starring Tom Hanks, Geena Davis, Madonna, Rosie O’Donnell and about a zillion other people)

I love this ensemble cast. This movie has humor, history, sibling relationships, tales of friendship, and sports. Plus, it’s got the famous line, “There’s no crying in baseball!” line from a one Tom Hanks.

Runner Up: We Bought a Zoo (starring Matt Damon and Scarlett Johansson)

I seriously think this is some of Matt Damon’s best acting work. Now, granted, I have not seen every movie he’s ever been in. But this family friendly movie is better than the average one. It’s smartly acted, touching, realistic, and there’s a dollop of humor. AND if that weren’t enough, there’s animals!

BEST SCARY MOVIE

What Lies Beneath (starring Harrison Ford and Michelle Pfieffer)

Okay, this is the first scary flick I remember watching. And this is also the only time I’ve ever screamed involuntarily during a movie. Shudder. I don’t really make a habit of seeing scary movies these days, but this one is still lodged in my memory. Not that I’m okay with Harrison Ford playing a bad guy. I’m not. Let’s not be under any illusions about that.

Runner Up: The Village (starring Bryce Dallas Howard and Joaquin Phoenix)

This movie doesn’t REALLY belong in the scary movie genre, even though that’s how it was marketed. But you know that M. Night Shamalalalalan. He makes his own rules. And also, I believe in marketing. So here it sits…

BEST ROMANTIC COMEDY (AKA CHICK FLICK)

As you might expect, I’ve seen a lot of movies in this category. I AM a girl, after all. So, I fudged the “best” idea to include more than one. AND a one cautionary entry.

Hitch (starring Will Smith, Kevin James, and Eva Mendes)

There’s very little I don’t love about this movie. The dance scene*? Every single Kevin James scene? Will Smith’s “basic rules”? HILARIOUSNESS with just the right touch of romantic antics. Now, if only they had cast someone other than Eva Mendes.

*For the record, my favorite is the Q-tip.

The Cutting Edge (starring Moira Kelly and D.B. Sweeney)

The classic opposites attract plot line, but on the ice? Toepick!

Life As We Know It (starring Katherine Heigl and Josh Duhamal)

I think what I love about this movie is the length of time it encompasses. Unlike most romantic comedies where two people meet, fall in love, and get married all in the space of a few weeks or months, this movie takes place over a full year. And while the “our friends left two single people as the guardian of our child” storyline isn’t really all that plausible, I think the romance is. So, I like it.

On the other hand, Something Borrowed gave me a nervous breakdown. First of all, I find the thought that someone would choose, well anyone, over John Krasinski to be completely absurd. Second of all, much like my friendships, I do NOT appreciate a movie built on lies.

BEST MOVIE IN WHICH YOU ROOT FOR CRIMINALS

We know it’s wrong but we do it anyway.

Ocean’s 11 (starring George Clooney, Brad Pitt, Matt Damon, and a gajillion others)

I don’t think there’s another movie that has this ensemble cast beat. I love the dry wit, their clever clever criminal ways, and the smooth style of the film.

Italian Job (starring Marky-Mark and the Funky Bunch, Charleze Theron, Donald Sutherland, etc.)

At one point, I owned two copies of this movie. I have no idea how. But most of what I said for Oceans 11 can be repeated here, with the exception of the starring car: the Mini-Cooper. It’s small, it’s speedy, and it can be easily parallel parked. ‘Nough said.

BEST COMEDY

I have a hard time with comedies. I passionately HATE slapstick stupid humor, which is what dominates this category. And, who says you have to have so much raunchiness to get a laugh? C’mon, people. I steer clear of this section of movies for the most part. But these are notable exceptions.

Guess Who? (starring Ashton Kutcher and Bernie Mac)

The scene where Ashton Kutcher and Bernie Mac are sitting awkwardly in the car and can’t escape racial songs on the radio? So funny. In fact, Bernie Mac’s comedic timing is hard to beat. This movie is a remake of Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner, which I actually have seen and did not dislike. So, that’s something.

Runner Up: Stick It (starring Missy Peregrym and Jeff Bridges)

I have a soft spot in my heart for gymnastics, I can’t help it. I find this movie so funny…the one-liners take you by surprise.

Turns out, there are a lot of categories to this list. And since I want to see my bed in order to be at church to sing at 7:00 AM (WHO MAKES THESE RULES?!?), I’ll finish the list up in a future post. But in the categories already listed, which movie would you have listed? I’m curious.

4 thoughts on “Movies I Categorically Love…[Part 1 of 2]

  1. Dad says:

    Hey M,

    This post gives us a few movies to watch, since some of your fave’s are ones your mother and I have not fallen asleep to (the last part of that sentence should be “watched”, but the TL would call fowl). 🙂

    AML, Dad

  2. stef says:

    I never knew this about you, I wouldn’t have guessed that you even saw half these movies, let alone love them!

    and booooooo to not liking classics!

  3. grandigirl says:

    Movie to watch again and again: Princess Bride. Although I’m not quite sure if it would fall under romantic comedy or comedy….what? Inconceivable!
    Best scary movie: well since I don’t really watch those (hey, I’m a mom now with 4 kids and I like to try to get SOME sleep at night) I did see The Village and I have to agree: creepy. Also, after I saw it, during the summer, I seriously slept under ALL my covers. Eek. Who knew Adrian Brody (sp?) could be so scary?
    To add to your list, though, I am an avid fan of the historical genre (so sue me, I was a history major :0)). There are too many faves in this category, but right now I’m thinking of Amazing Grace. While I’m not too familiar with the exact details, I love the story of valiantly fighting for what is right; I could watch this movie over and over again.
    Also, best spy movie (this was kind of a non-category for me before, but now I like them because of my husband). This is a tough one, I really like the Bourne movies, 007 (Daniel Craig as James Bond? nice), and Mission Impossible 3 (the guy risking everything to save his wife? I’m down with that). Ooh, ooh, and Spy Game; I really like the value placed on friendship.
    I think that WWII movies should have their own category (since there are so many of them…): Saving Private Ryan is a winner and (even though it isn’t a movie but a mini-series) I really liked Band of Brothers. These make me want to stand and applaud the courage, sacrifice and heroism that it takes to defend freedom.

Leave a Reply

