How is it February already?!

About one second ago it was Christmas, right? I feel like I’m losing my mind…or time…okay, maybe it’s both.

Let me tell you something (and if you tell anyone I said this, I’ll deny it up and down), American Idol sometimes feels like a long haul. Think about how many months are devoted to finding the Next! American! Idol! and the mutiple nights a week during said months that take us on that journey with the lucky hopefuls. It’s a lot. And every year before the madness starts, I get excited because I know how invested I will eventually become in these people’s lives. People that don’t know me and probably never will.

But, I also have a little heart-to-heart with myself.

“Self”, I say “Are you sure you really want to commit to this again?”

Lots of people that I’ve talked to have said that they are finished with the show. That now that they’ve seen the new judges in action, they’re kind of over it. You know who you are.(Picture me giving you a pretend evil eye.).

But my answer always comes back “Yes”. And watching the auditions this last month, I’m reminded why. Because watching these people try to acheive their dream makes me feel all teary and fuzzy inside all at the same time! Now, I don’t get why some of these people feel the need to drop out of school to pursue a singing career…is there any law that says you can’t sing during/after college? But I digress.

I’m not naive. I know those producers are trying to evoke an emotional response from me by featuring certain life back stories. They do their best to take a page from “Extreme Makeover: Emotional Manipulation Edition”. Somehow, though, I can’t help but see right past that. People are people and sometimes their stories need to be heard, for goodness sake! From this diatribe, you can surmise that I’ve shed a few tears on behalf of many an Idol contestant. So what? If anything, you should take this as your cue to buy stock in Kleenex…trust me. That’s a hot tip.

This season, there are a few contestants that I’ll be rooting for during Hollywood week–and I daresay stand a good chance of hanging in there and making it as a part of the top 12. Here they are:

Brittany ZikaFirst of all, we both love Sara Bareilles. Second of all, it’s hard to not like someone who refers to herself as a “tripster hipster”. Love her voice!

Heejun Han – So, I like his voice and everything but c’mon…he’s hilarious! Clearly. I admit it. I’m in it for the comedic relief. 🙂

Hallie Day – I love her attitude and the bold song choice.

Johnny Keyser – He and his dad are like the male version of Gilmore Girls! I could be wrong, but it sounds like he might have changed keys between the first phrase and the second. But when he comes in after Randy prompts him? Magic.

Phillip Phillips Jr.Am I crazy or is he like a Kris Allen/Casey Abrams hybrid? LOVED his version of Thriller.

Can’t wait for Hollywood week! 🙂

3 thoughts on “How is it February already?!

  1. Linda Haddock says:

    M,
    I assume that you wrote this before St. Louis week….I think the winner will be from St. Louis. I didn’t take such careful attention as to their names….one was Johnny I think. But I will keep you posted!
    Hang on to your seats, massacre Holiday week is coming.
    Love,
    Mom

  2. Katie Ganshert says:

    You had me laughing right here: “Self,” I say…

    I’m so glad I’m not the only one who has conversations with myself!

    The last season I watched of AI was when that Taylor guy won. Oh, Taylor. What a quirky fellow, he was. (imagine me shielding myself from your evil eye!)

  3. Sarah Zimmer says:

    YAY! Aim’s Idol commentary is back! I really liked Philip Phillips as well. I could really do without Steven drooling all over the teenage girls. Blah!

    I’m looking forward to your future posts! 😉

Leave a Reply

