My Kryptonite

First of all, can we just say Smallville?!?

Okay, but that’s not really the point of this post…so moving on.

There are certain things in life that are hard to resist. There’s different stuff for different people. I’m assuming that’s why there are so many pistachios in the world (ew). A lot of girls have to have shoes. Lots and lots of shoes. Don’t get me wrong, I have my fair share in the shoe-verse. But I can resist them. Some girls need to have a ton of designer purses. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t like cute handbags. But, again, I can keep them at arm’s length if I need to.

See this is where Superman was lucky to just have one weakness. For me, it’s a few things.

Jars. Mason jars, old antique medicine jars, colored jars, every size and shape of jar. I know it’s kind of weird. But I LOVE them. It’s hard for me not to buy them. They are perfect for just about anything! Use them as an organizer for pens/pencils/highlighters/craft supplies/etc.. They’re also incredibly purposeful for transporting liquids, keeping food fresh, and other stuff. ALSO, they make for great decorations…they’re my favorite kind of vase. Anyhoo. Jars. Who knew?

Journals. Gosh, I’m embarrassed to tell you how many journals I own. For me, the best thing about a journal is that I can dump all your mixed up thoughts and emotions on a non-judgmental blank piece of paper and then organize them in a way that makes sense in my brain. But, while that would be perfect justification for owning a lot of journals, I feel like I should definitely ‘fess up and tell you that I’d be drawn to them even if I never wrote a single thing in them. They’re just so darn pretty! And awesome!

Books. Okay, this one might be a no-brainer to you. But every time I move, I realize how bad this addiction is. 🙂 It wouldn’t be so bad if I didn’t have so many books on my shelf that I’ve never read. I mean, some of them I TOTALLY intend to pick up. Some of them, I’m ashamed to say, I bought for the cover. Some of them just make me look smart. But man! I love to read. And I love to buy books and organize them by author and genre on my bookshelves. And lend them out. And recommend them to friends. They pretty much rock my face off.

So the real question is: What’s your kryptonite? Maybe it’s Smallville? 🙂

One thought on “My Kryptonite

  1. Susan says:

    So, I was thinking about your post; what is *my* kryptonite? If we’re talking in terms of a substance that renders you completely helpless, it would have to be grass. If I’m within 3 blocks of someone mowing their lawn, I will feel it’s effects. But if we’re talking in terms of something I just can’t pass up when shopping then it would have to be whatever sweets that are on the clearance shelf in Ralph’s (I must admit, I have yet to find the clearance shelf at Von’s, but that’s probably for the best – let’s face it, there’s a *reason* those things have a shelf life). Your jar fettish is interesting. We used to live on a lot that the locals used as a trash heap years ago and everytime we we dig (for putting in a fence or a garden etc) we would find really random stuff including (but not limited to) glass bottles from the 40s which would fit nicely in your collection. My dad cleaned them out and saved the most interesting finds, but I don’t think I would trust them for transporting liquids, etc.

Leave a Reply

