Game Time!

Gosh, I love games. I mean, not ALL games. For instance, you won’t catch me holed up in a dimly lit room playing hours and hours of solitaire. I mostly just love games that you can play with friends and be all social and stuff. You know. Strategic games. Super fun hilarious games. Get to know you games. Board games. Card games. I’m not that picky. Which is probably why I love game nights so much. It’s not that big of a leap, right?

I do have a couple of rules for myself in these situations, though. ‘Cause let’s face it…I can get pretty darn competitive. And if I’m not careful, at the end of the night someone’s crying, someone’s angry, and pieces from the game are all over the floor. Okay, maybe I’m not THAT bad, but still. I like to win!

My top four favorite games, in no particular order and subject to change at any time…

1. Settlers of Catan and all subsequent expansion packs. AKA “Settlers” to those in the know. What I love about this game is that the board changes every time (there are many land tiles that make up the board and they can be laid in any order) and there are elements about each game you play that’s the same…but different. Plus, the people you play it with makes a huge difference. Basically, Settlers of Catan is kind of like a mix between Monopoly and Risk with a teensy bit of Pit thrown in for good measure. Picture an unsettled land with only resources like wood, brick, sheep, ore, and wheat and yourself as trying to settle that land. Each house you build (along with other things) gives you points and when you get to a certain amount of points you win the game. Okay, that’s seriously simplified, but it’s super fun. Here’s the deal about this game: people either love it or hate it. There are a lot of rules and structure to the game and to a newcomer it’s a lot to keep straight. But once you get the hang of it, it’s easy breezy. Word to the wise, every game of Settlers is a minimum of about an hour and a half committment. So plan accordingly!

2. Killer Uno. Oh. My. Gosh. If I had a nickel for every time I played this game and laughed my head off I’d have a solid quarter! This is more of a group game, so I haven’t played it very much but it’s a rousing good time. In a nutshell, this is Uno with a twist. Certain cards in the Uno deck have a deeper meaning than before. For instance (bear with me, my memory might be a biiiit rusty):

Twos: Called the “Silent” 2. If someone plays a two, everyone at the table must be silent until the next card is played. If someone speaks or makes a sound, they have to draw a card.

Sixes: If someone plays a 6, everyone at the table has to slap the deck. Last person to do so draws a card.

Also, if a card is played across the table and you have the exact card in your hand, you can play it out of turn. There’s more, but you get the idea. It’s super fun. Kind of like spoons meets dutch blitz!

3. Carcassone. Similar to Settlers, Carcassone has a game board composed of tiles and you’re basically settling the land. But, Carcassone only takes about 45 minutes to play and there’s a little more chance than strategy involved so it’s more low key. It’s also easy to pick up!

4. Phase 10. Phase 10 is a card game where you try to get a certain combination in your hand each round. As an example: A run of 3 and a set of 4. A run is cards in numerical order (i.e. 1, 2, 3, 4). A set is cards of all the same number (3 sevens). I know, I know. Given my aversion to numbers, liking this game seems like it’s not in the cards (ha!), right? But it also plays to my organizational mind. Gotta love that!

How about you? Got any favorite games? Any that you hate to play? Any you think I would like?

6 thoughts on “Game Time!

  1. Erin says:

    Quick! Go to your nearest game store and get Rage. I think it’s about $4. It’s a card game that is awesome and occassionally rage-ful, hence the name. For awhile they didn’t sell in in America, so ours came with German instructions 🙂 You’ll love it, I promise.

Leave a Reply

