Random Tuesday

Today, I pulled into the work parking lot and there were about 4 cars. That should have been my first clue to turn around and ABORT THE MISSION. But, since I’m kind of dense (and not a morning person), I entered the building and prepared for the day. My morning consisted of:

  • Blinking rapidly at my computer monitor and trying to wake up
  • Making the happy, if somewhat startling, discovery that the milk in the work fridge was still good
  • Forgetting to put the milk in my Irish Breakfast tea 😦
  • Researching where to buy a Pennsylvania specific Amish prayer kapp
  • Taking two bites of oatmeal
  • Completely spacing out that I had a conference call with an author
  • Scrambling to print out all the information needed for said conference call
  • Taking copious notes with my green pen during the conference call. Realizing that I didn’t know where my pink pen was.
  • Emailing various co-workers, authors, and vendors
  • Waiting for a 6 page fax to go through (I hate that we’re still in a fax generation…)
  • Drinking my cold tea
  • Continuing to try and find the elusive Amish prayer kapp and trying not to hyperventilating in light of my rapidly approaching deadline.

For lunch, I went to Starbucks with my good friend Katie. Things were starting to look up! Then I stupidly decided to return to work for the afternoon. My afternoon consisted of:

  • Watching a hilarious “marketing” video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IkOQw96cfyE)
  • Forwarding the video to several people who would like it
  • Searching in vain for my pink pen
  • Solidifying advertising plans and placements for 2012
  • Typing a recap of the above conference call with action points for all involved
  • Beginning to create a landing page the work’s website that shows all our Christmas books in one place
  • Trying to figure out why WordPress always, without fail, hates my formatting
  • Responding to a vaguely work-related but mostly just for fun email by my new friend and debut novelist, a different Katie about my escalating aversion to the Twilight movies even though I loved the books
  • Creating UPS shipping labels for the located Amish prayer kapp (insert Hallelujah chorus here!)
  • Responding to emails and trying to delete as many as I could (I just managed to bring my inbox down from about 3,800 emails to 576 but it’s a constantly shifting landscape, people.)
  • Making a mental note to listen to James Durbin’s new CD on iTunes and download Casey Abrams and Haley Reinhart’s Christmas duet
  • Sending an email along with the email trail to someone who should have never seen it
  • Briefing my boss on said email and potential ramifications
  • Apologizing to in-house person who was affected by said email
  • Apologizing in email to the author who was affected by said email
  • Calling said author to make really, really sure that they knew I was super sorry for said email
  • Crying on Katie’s metaphorical shoulder about above email blunder
  • Coordinating with sales re: author video for upcoming presentations
  • Starting my to do list for tomorrow on a post-it note
  • Tidying my desk
  • FINDING MY PINK PEN!
  • Removing all but two bites of my oatmeal from the bowl and putting it in the dishwasher

Since then, I’ve spent some quality time at the gym, made it through the grocery store gauntlet with all my limbs AND every item on my list, and managed not to punch anyone in the face. Tomorrow has got to be better, right? A new day with no mistakes in it yet? 🙂

3 thoughts on “Random Tuesday

  1. Lindsay says:

    Oh, friend! Sorry your day was less than fun. 😦 The good news is tomorrow is a half-day, followed by a 4 day vacation! Woot! Hopefully your half-day is productive and happy, with not one ounce of stress.

  2. Dad says:

    M, a day in the life, I loved it!. Oatmeal-$2.00. Almost spoiled milk not in your tea-$2.70. Your day, which we have all had with different names, face and circumstances…Priceless!

    While reading your post, I heard this song in my head very faintly in the background…[This is the day, this is the day, this is the day that the LORD hath made, that the LORD hath…

    Praying for your perfect day today M! AML,D

  3. Katie Ganshert says:

    Cyber hugs to my friend, Amy! Is it bad that this post made me laugh? Not that you had a bad day, but that you are able to write about it with humor. Okay, so try not to beat yourself up too much about the email blunder. Seriously, we’ve ALL done it. Or maybe I shouldn’t say we. Maybe I should just say, I have done it (okay, so I tried to capitalize or accentuate the I, but that’s really hard to do since it’s already capitalized….). Anyway, I’ve been there. I do those types of things on a regular basis. I am the QUEEN of foot-in-my-mouth syndrome, and I don’t mean that weird virus little kids get.

    Today shall be better!

    It shall!

Leave a Reply

