Sparkling Never Hurt Anyone

I don’t know, maybe it’s my days as a cheerleader. Learning to wield glitter as a simultaneous symbol of prettiness, inspiration, and spirit is sure to change a person. Or maybe it’s that I am similar to a bird or a troll in my quest for sparkly objects. But I’m getting ahead of myself! Here’s what you need to know:

1. I have a long-harbored desire to own a bedazzler. And to bedazzle my clothes, notebooks, purses, and pretty much anything else that lends itself to being sparklified.

2. I’ve seriously considered dying my hair pink. If only I could lose the Jem connotations and have a job in the music industry that wouldn’t frown on such a thing, I’d be aboard that train in a heartbeat!

2. I not only love pink but also bright colors.  I have a pair of fushia shoes that I heart. My favorite color combination is electric blue and lime green. I don’t know. I just feel the need for my colors to SHOUT, apparently. You wouldn’t be able to tell it from the amazing amount of gray and black in my work wardrobe, but there you go.

3. Recently, I ran across this genius item on Pinterest.

So, put yourself in my non-bedazzled-but-not-for-lack-of-trying shoes for a moment. I was minding my own business, catching up on shows hanging out on my DVR and two characters in one of my favorite shows were using a glitter gun.

Hold up! A GLITTER GUN?!?! Why have I never heard of this before? I’m not sure how it works, but I need to be a part of it.  This Instant. But, since you can’t believe everything you see on TV or read on Wikipedia, I did a little research. And by “a little research” I mean, I Googled for “glitter gun”. (I would have asked Siri, but I’m not one of The Chosen).

It’s real, people. Here’s proof. There’s a reason they call it a “weapon of mass fabulousness”. Just imagine how fabulous I could be with such an object.

Now, you may ask: “Amy, a glitter gun is all well and good, but what in heavens name would you actually gun down with glitter?” And the real answer is, I’m not sure. But I’m sure I’d figure out something. I’m pretty resourceful, after all! Maybe my car? A wooden chair? A book? My hair? The possibilities are really endless.

If only all things in life could be coated with a light dusting of sparkle. Metaphorically, of course. Otherwise, that’d be some massive clean-up.

Bottom line: Sparkle makes me happy. And when I’m happy, you’re happy. Right? 🙂

Happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

