The Hunger Games…

…No, I’m not talking about a diet. I’m talking about a trilogy of books by a one Suzanne Collins. You may have seen them out and about, they look like this:

Last year, I heard through the grapevine that these books were the greatest thing since remote control space heaters and were getting rave reviews by people everywhere. (Okay, so I didn’t do a LOT of research on this and maybe not people EVERYWHERE.) Nevertheless, they took up residence on the New York Times bestseller list. And I like to be hip and jive to the latest and greatest thing, so I read the description of the first book. I took a look at the cover. And I put it back on the shelf. After all, I did NOT want this to be like watching a movie that’s won a million awards but makes me want to punch the movie creators in the face and say “Now I’ll never get those two hours of my life back.” ‘Cause that’s an awful feeling. But THEN my friends Sarah and Jaime recommended the series to me. This is significant because:

1. Sarah and Jaime have never met. So, there’s no way they could have conspired to sway me.

2. Sarah and Jaime are completely different personality types, so this told me that the book appeals to a wide audience.

3. Sarah and Jaime (if you haven’t guessed by now) are both girls. When I looked at the covers, they seemed like books for boys…you know the kind. Militia and bloodshed-heavy with the teensiest plot thrown in for “color”. But if Sarah and Jaime liked them and could say so without embarrassment, I knew it was probably okay for me, too.

4. Jaime owned the books, so I knew I could borrow them and not pay a dime to read their contents.

Long story short (I know, that’s not really my forte is it?), I read the books. The first book was so intriguing that I was sucked in. I read the second book in quick succession and it ended on a cliffhanger of unfair proportions. (WHY DO AUTHORS DO THAT?!?!) Read the last book and alternately cried, held my breath, almost threw the book across the room when it was going in a direction I didn’t like, and when it ended I felt a little abandoned. The series elicited such an emotional reaction, that I knew the author did her job. She made the characters vivid, the setting clear, the action defined, and the emotional tug sincere.

So, you can imagine how I reacted when I found out the first book was going to be made into a movie. I was beside myself and I marked down the release date on my calendar, lest I forget since at that time the movie was TWO YEARS away. Sigh.

Two months ago, the studio posted this trailer:

Mean, right? If you’ve never read the books, you have not much of a clue as to what the movie is about. If you HAVE read the books, it only makes you angry that there’s not more. Trust me on this one.

But today. TODAY. My friend Katie sent me the official trailer that was released this morning. We’re talking FULL LENGTH, people. Glory be!

You know how you know a movie is going to be good? When you tear up one minute into the theatrical trailer, that’s how.

Leave a Reply

