Benefit This, Insurance Company!

So, today I did my benefit elections for 2012. I hate this time of year…it makes my stomach turn and I always wait until the final moments to lock in my selections.

I’m not sure why I do that, I know it’s not logical at all. I think it’s partly because I think something magical will happen between the time I get the notification that the election period is open and when the final decisions are due and I’ll somehow understand health insurance. For those of you that know my background in working in life insurance let me assure you, it is in NO WAY the same. I feel like I need a political science or law degree just to decipher the “easy to understand” descriptions in my overview flyer.

Also, I hate feeling so boxed in. Once I decide what my medial benefits will be, I can’t change it for a YEAR. That seems so daunting to me. I mean, so many things can happen in a year! I could go blind as a bat and if I don’t click the “vision” option, I’ll be up a creek without eyesight OR a paddle. I’ll be honest, I start to feel a little claustrophobic and am tempted to use my informational brochure as a make-shift paper bag to breath in and out of. I’m with the Dixie Chicks on this one, I need wide open spaces.

It makes me long for the curfews and cleaning-room mandates of living at home, just so I could be under my parent’s insurance plan again and never have to make another decision like this. Ever. But, then I think about how much I like my life and how being independent has it’s upsides and I talk myself off the ledge. The metaphorical ledge, of course, because I’m scared of heights. And pigeons. But a ledge nevertheless.

But, as Pollyanna would say, I’ll never be further away from the next benefit selection period than I am right now! And she’s right…that makes me glad. šŸ™‚

 

 

Leave a Reply

