DIY

As you all know, I’m kind of in love with Pinterest. (If you need more depth on this topic, you can click here.)  I’ve gotten a little less obsessive about it, sure, but I still check it probably just as much as Facebook. It’s like tapping into pure creativity. Pure. Creativity. Part of the appeal of Pinterest is the DIY option. For those of you that don’t speak craft-ese, DIY means “Do It Yourself”.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m on board! I like doing things for myself…been doin’ that for a long time. And I also like the challenge of taking something expensive or out of reach and being able to reproduce it for only a little time and/or money. I’m a problem solver!

Things I’ve made myself:

A Book.

I think it was Mr. B’s 6th grade class. My friend Allison Reid and I co-wrote Barbie Power. She drew the cover picture. I picked the pink construction paper as the canvas. The book, in a nutshell, was about two friends verrrrry loosely based on Allison and me. They go about their lives when ALL OF A SUDDEN, their Barbies grow into life-size humans. I know, right?! It hooks you right from the start. I won’t go into too many details here, but Allison and I decided that the book would end as a cliffhanger, to be continued in our sequel The Class War II.

There was no Class War I. We didn’t even have any intentions of writing The Class War II. This is some of the emotional baggage that I carry with me every day.

A Quilt.

Did you guys know that sewing requires math?! Ahem. Let’s just say it was good that I had a whole lotta help, okey dokey? And I’m not exactly sure why, but the corners never did quite match up when I tried to fold it. Ah, well. You win some, you lose some.

An Ornament.

I’m not exactly sure how it came into existence. But I do know that it came with beads and puff paint. ‘Nuff said, right?

But lately, in my wanderings I’ve run into some things that make me question the DIY movement. For instance, making your own dryer sheets seems like a nice way to save a buck or two.

But some things, you should just not do in general…DIY or not:

Exhibit A: http://pinterest.com/pin/215234234/

Exhibit B: This just seems like a tremendously stuipd idea – http://pinterest.com/pin/179964364/

Then, I ran across an entry for a DIY outdoor pizza oven. Am I missing some sort a trend here? Is there a wave of DIY pizza oven makers sweeping the country? http://pinterest.com/pin/195972191/

I’m just sayin’. Just because you CAN, doesn’t mean you SHOULD.

2 thoughts on “DIY

Leave a Reply

