A Change of Time

So, remember how numbers hate me? They taunt me, evade my every attempt to coral them, and basically have no qualms about making me look stupid?

Yeah. Apparently, this also applies to time.

It all started with timezones. Seriously, if you all could pull up my work computer’s history and see how often I google “timezone map”, you’d be amazed. I always mean to print one off as a reference point, and I’m pretty sure my calendar/organizer at work has one in the back. But, for some reason, I just can’t get myself together.

It would be just fine if part of my job–you know, the thing that earns my livelihood–wasn’t coordinating calls with authors all over the U.S. Man, I double and triple check that timezone situation. With me, it’s a disaster waiting to happen.

Now, let’s all turn in our hymnals to the “Fall Back” chapter of this story. This week, as you probably know by now, was the time we gain another hour of sleep. You know me! I was allll over that like three-year-olds on a pixie stick. I just couldn’t quite figure out what I had to do to get it.

I mean, I get that we have to change our clocks. So. Here’s some insight into my thought process. If you’re my friend, please promise in your heart right now to be my friend AFTER you read it, m’kay?

“So. Right now it’s 10:03. If I were to get an extra hour right now, it would be 11:03. But wait, that seems like I just lost an hour. Okay, let’s start over. If I need to get up at 6:15 AM, I should set my clock back one hour so that then that’ll be the extra hour. Wait. Is that right? I think that’s right.”

At this point, it was 10:15 PM on Saturday night. I ended up changing my family room clock to read 11:15 PM. I set my battery operated clock (my secondary alarm clock) to the same time, set my cell phone alarm to go off at 6:15 AM (knowing that it would change automatically, but not knowing if I would wake up to the alarm, since I usually set two). I left the clocks in the bathroom as control groups so that I would know what time it was if I hadn’t changed anything. (See? All those science classes weren’t wasted after all!!)

Fastforward to the wee hours of the morning when my battery operated clock goes off. I check my cell phone. It says “4:15 AM”. I stumble into the bathroom, stubbing my toe on the laundry basket and turn on the light. I squinted at the control clocks that read 5:15 AM. It took me about 7 minutes standing there willing my brain to work before I realized that I set my clocks in the wrong direction. I reset my clocks and slept another 2 hours.

See? No harm, no foul. You’ll be glad to know that I made it to choir practice on time, though my mid-early morning romp did kind of negate the extra hour of sleep. I’m just sayin’ – I think Arizona has the right idea.

Now, I just have to figure out how to change the clock in my car…ah well.

All in good time. 🙂

One thought on “A Change of Time

  1. Susan says:

    Aw, Aimsters. That definitely negates the extra hour of sleep in my mind. I still haven’t changed the clock on my nightstand, because the baby hasn’t figured out he’s supposed to sleep an extra hour and it was just too demoralizing to see that his usual 6am wake up time is now 5am 😦 NO ONE should be up at that time. So, he cries; I look at my clock; it’s somewhere in the 6 o’clock hour (I can handle that). I get to the kitchen and see it’s still dark:thirty, but I’m already awake by then. If it weren’t for Ivan needing his sleep, I would make the little guy cry until a decent hour in the morning, but, alas, easier said than done.

Leave a Reply

