T.G.I.F.

Gosh, I love Fridays.

I mean, I know most people love Fridays. It’s the end of a work week. It’s the beginning of a weekend. But I REALLY love Fridays. For me, I think it goes all the way back to the days of yore when T.G.I.F. ruled the television waves (or whatever they’re called) at the end of every week.

‘Member this?

Just watching that video brought back a flood of memories, eh? T.G.I.F. was the home of many an awesome 90’s television show. Such as…

Perfect Strangers!

C’mon, now. The dance of joy? If you don’t know this one you have missed out, my friend! Cousin Larry and Balki and their wackadoodle adventures? Sign me up!

Family Matters!

The best thing they did for that show (and poor Jaleel White) was that crazy machine that turned Steve Urkel into Stefan. Seriously.

Step by Step!

I probably shouldn’t admit this, but I can still sing this theme song. I totally wanted to be a combination of Al and Dana. Plus, I thought Cody was HILARIOUS. Looking back…not so much.

Full House!

My sister Lindsay and I taught our Michelle-aged sister, Brittany, how to say “You got it, dude” when we did the thumbs up sign. She got pretty good at it. I still remember good ‘ole Danny Tanner’s love of clean, Uncle Jesse’s overprotected hair, and Joey’s Cosby-like sweaters. To this day, when I see a shot of a San Francisco street, I always think of the intro to Full House. Fun times!

Hangin’ with Mr. Cooper!

I vividly recall one episode where Mr. Cooper had taken some sort of muscle relaxant and somehow he could not control his limbs. He ended up launching an important man’s award trophy out of the window of a huge skyscraper office building. Now, if that doesn’t say Friday, what does?!

Boy Meets World!

Kind of late on the bandwagon, and I’m not sure that I watched every episode. But really. That Rider Strong! Back when floppy hair and open flannel button-downs over a white t-shirt ruled the school, Rider held down the role of sidekick to Cory Matthews and pain in Mr. Feeney’s side very well. [Side note: When I was living in SoCal, I went to church with the actor who played Mr. Turner. No joke!]

Ah, yes. Those days are long gone, but every Friday brings a little touch of the T.G.I.F. in all of us, don’t you think? It’s a deep thought. Just sit there for a second and drink it all in. After all, tomorrow’s Saturday! And you can sleep in. 🙂

P.S. For more than you probably ever wanted to know about the history of T.G.I.F., feel free to visit the Wikipedia page here. What was your favorite show on T.G.I.F.?

3 thoughts on “T.G.I.F.

  1. rickgingrich says:

    I loved TGIF as a kid! I was a big Family Matters, Boy meets World and Full House fan. I was NOT allowed, however, to watch Sabrina the teenage witch. I should go thank my parents for saving those brain cells…

Leave a Reply

