NaBloPoMo: Only 29 more days to go

Hey, guys! Welcome to November, otherwise known as NaBloPoMo. This month you’ll have get to see and skim read a post from me every day. Whether you like it or not, basically.

I know. It kind of blows my mind.

Today, I celebrated the beginning of NaBloPoMo with a pumpkin spice chai from my friendly neighborhood Starbucks store. Which, to be honest, is the way I spend a lot of mornings, celebration or no. Here’s the thing:

Three to four years ago, my Dad gave me an amazing present for Christmas. He bought me a Starbucks Gold membership, with accompanying rewards card that could be loaded, reloaded, and used to get free stuff. I was pretty proud to carry that black card with a gold Starbucks cup emblazoned on its front. For a second, I pretended like it was the American Express black card. But that moment quickly passed when I tried to shop at Anthropologie with it. Rebuffed, I used that card at Starbucks until they discontinued the paid membership program and switched it to more of a rewards card.

I was sent a new card. This one was burnished gold (probably just gold-plated, though, don’t get excited) with a shiny gold cup. Since I (via my Dad’s gift) has been one of the original gold card holders, they gave me my gold status for “free”. Now, ever 15 drinks I get, I get a free one. And free syrups and what not. And a free drink on my birthday. Okay. Good. Fine. Sounds great! Except, it kind of comes with a stigma. For instance…

I went into a local Starbucks to grab a drink on a Saturday morning. The place was swarming with people…mostly bicyclers and runners (I live in Colorado) and I finally elbowed my way up to the counter. The barista took one look at my gold card and said “Oh! I haven’t met you yet, I’m new, but I’m excited to get to know you over the next few days!”

Um. I appreciate the sentiment. I really do! But, BOY was that awkward. That’s a lot of pressure to create and maintain a relationship from nothing!

 You’ll notice that this encounter did not keep my from using said card. It is pretty awesome.

Also! The red cups are back! The red cups are back! And I have to say, I’m not that impressed. I mean, I’m happy to have the break from the mundane yet classic white cups, but the design is kind of lame. Ah, well.

And this is just a mere glimpse into my enthralling life, sure to keep you riveted to your computers day after blessed day.

You’re welcome.

2 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo: Only 29 more days to go

  1. Lindsay says:

    I appreciate your Gold Plated Card of Delight, too, as it resulted in a free vent Egg Nog Latte for me this morning. 🙂 Thank you, Amy and Amy’s dad! You’ve helped start my November (known as NaNoWriMo in my land) off right!

Leave a Reply

