Time for Thankfulness

When I was in Jr. High, I had a Sunday school teacher that would ask for prayer requests each class. A lot of kids (never me, of COURSE) would ask for generic prayer for friends and family and this came to be nicknamed as “MCI”. (For you young ones, MCI had a friends and family calling plan back in the day). It was kind of a sweeping “this is a place-holder prayer request and isn’t specific enough to really garner any attention at all” nickname. Whether it was right or wrong, that’s the way it was.

So, sometimes I feel like my Thanksgiving musings are kind of like that. I find that I’m thankful for the same things each year…my salvation, my health, my family, my friends, my job, etc. And while I am truly and genuinely thankful for each of these things, and they are all SUPER important, I wanted to focus on something else that I’m really thankful for this holiday season.

I’m thankful for God’s grace in my life. Because I have natural tendencies to be super legalistic, God’s grace is something that I haven’t fully grasped during my spiritual growth. Who has, really?

I’m grateful for the fact that my relationship with God is not the same as my relationships with humans. He doesn’t have human emotions that react the way that others would toward my sinful heart and actions. He forgives me when I confess my sin to him, he doesn’t hold it against me for a future argument. He doesn’t get frustrated with me and my inconsistency the way that I get frustrated with myself.

 I’ve been realizing that this area of my life needs some deeper focus. And I’m excited to learn what I will about God this year.

Most of all, I’m thankful that the Lord’s mercies are new every morning and that he’s not through working on my yet.

2 thoughts on “Time for Thankfulness

  1. lindahaddock says:

    Here is the legalistic response that came INSTANTLY to my head – habits are hard to break – “Amen Sister, Amen”
    Here is the grace response – tears in my eyes.
    I love you, M. And may we all continue to grow in the grace of GOD.
    Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

