Thanksgiving Prelude

Helloooo there! Here’s a few things you might need to know about me leading up to Thanksgiving Day. Don’t worry, I’m planning a more introspective blog for ACTUAL turkey day, but for now, I think these things need to take priority:

1. I really hate shopping on Black Friday. And by “shopping”, I mean camping out on a store’s doorstep, moving into that store as soon as the doors open with a crush of people who most likely have not showered, and wrestling fellow shoppers to the ground over some prized item. That said, I really LIKE shopping on Black Friday…but only if it’s online from the comfort of my recliner/bed/kitchen table. This just in: internet shopping. It’s totally the way to go! I’d tell you where I shop, but I don’t want you to get the deals before me. What can I say? I’m thankful for you dear blog readers, but not THAT thankful.

2. I cannot stand the sweet potato dish with marshmallow topping. I don’t know WHO thought this combination up, but it’s SUPER disgusting. I’ve gone through life assuming that I don’t like sweet potatoes just because of this one ominous dish. Turns out (thanks to Noelle‘s fabulous cooking) that I do like sweet potatoes that are cooked in a savory way. Who knew? And can anyone tell me the difference between a sweet potato and a yam?

3. I’ve not had a Thanksgiving with my immediate family since high school. Isn’t that sad? I think it’s sad. But even though I’d rather spend the holiday with my own family, it’s been really fun to be a part of other families over the years. Not to be too “on the nose” but I’m really thankful for the friends I’ve been able to spend Thanksgiving with since leaving my home for college. And I like to think that there’s a special blessing in heaven for those people who invite wayward souls into their kitchen for a nice turkey dinner. It’s also pretty awesome that many holidays find my parents doing that very same thing. How’s that for symmetry?

4. I once tried to make a Thanksgiving Day music mix playlist and didn’t get very far. After “We Gather Together”, “Give Thanks”, “Thank You, Lord” and “Thank You For Giving to the Lord” what else can you add without making it a more “abstract” list? I’d welcome suggestions.

5. I have a pretty big respect for my Dad’s mad skills at carving the turkey. It’s a lot harder than it looks! (Right, Liz?) My efforts mostly wound up being under the category of “not helpful”.

What are your “prelude to Thanksgiving” need-to-knows? Gobble Gobble!

One thought on “Thanksgiving Prelude

  1. Dad says:

    Hey M,

    My first thought on this post is…why don’t we have you out to WV next Thanksgiving? 🙂 What a HUGE oversight…that we’ve not had Thanksgiving as a family since you were in college (I won’t devulge the year so as to protect a young woman’s age here). I didn’t realize this fact, since we always work our family visits to the Christmas/New Years holidays. We can fix that easy enough…right M!

    You may learn the difference between a yam and a sweet potato here:
    http://www.loc.gov/rr/scitech/mysteries/sweetpotato.html

    In taste not so much difference…but in family of plants…quite different!

    I am totally with you on Black Friday Shopping…Internet shopping saves money, time shopping, the cost of gas, time packaging up gifts, shipping costs and most of all…OUR SANITY! 🙂

    Happy Thanksgiving M!

Leave a Reply

