Extra! Extra!

So, it’s true. This news is a touch on the old side. But you know what all those other news outlets don’t have that I do? Me!

The word on the street is that for this American Idol season J.Lo, RaJa, and SteTy are making some pretty significant changes. Or maybe it’s just the muckity mucks that are making the changes and we’ll all benefit/suffer together.

 (That makes me think of this!)

Anywhoosit. The deal is that the American Idol peeps are eliminating the round for the top 24 and “the contest’s finalists will now be required to make a music video, promote themselves, and learn to work with a band and back-up dancers.” Full article by Entertainment Weekly here: http://insidetv.ew.com/2010/11/18/american-idol-nigel-lythgoe-new-challenges/

Christmas came early, people. First of all. Can you imagine the hilarious nature of some of these situations? I don’t think we can fully comprehend it without seeing the train wreck happen. You’ve seen the “group” challenge. This has the potential for ten times the drama!

And while I don’t agree with Nigel that the top 24 were boring, I can fully get behind this new and interesting angle. Just think of the hours of future entertainment by YouTube-ing that content (That’s right. I just made YouTube a verb). 

And if they pull it off? Good for them. I think as many hurdles as we can give to these people to avoid having another lackluster season, the better.  Who’s with me?

One thought on “Extra! Extra!

  1. Dad says:

    M!

    You’ve been a Newsies fan from (almost) birth! 🙂

    I’m like my buddy Wally, I just don’t know how interested I will be in AI this next season. Simon Cowell was most of the cashe of the show for me.

    AML,
    D

Leave a Reply

