Tigerbones is NOT #1…

…but they very well could be on Monday. Let me explain.

For the second year in a row, I created my own fantasy football league. I’ve played for many years (maybe 5 or 6?) and I just love it. Before I started playing fantasy football, I would only watch Broncos games. I only knew Broncos players. And let me tell you, playing fantasy football with your whole team stocked with players from one NFL team is just pure insanity. It just doesn’t work that way! Because I started playing in a work league with mostly guys, I really had to put in some time…watch other teams play, keep up with the draft (not that I still have any idea HOW it works, mind you), keep up on player injuries, etc. And I became a much more well-rounded football fan. I just really enjoy the game itself, and have a much broader understanding of the NFL as a whole.

A lot of people have asked me how fantasy football works. So, here’s a brief overview of the “system”. Imagine that every player in the NFL, despite their team, were all dumped onto a football field and then categorized by player positions instead of by team (all the quarterbacks in a line, all the wide receivers in a line, etc). Then picture yourself in the middle of the field with 11 of your friends and you each have to fill a whole football team’s worth of positions. So, you might choose the quarterback from the Indianapolis Colts, but pick a running back from the Baltimore Ravens, etc.

So, when you’re watching your Sunday football games, you’re looking to see how individual players that you’ve picked to be on your team perform because specific points are assigned to certain actions. A running back might get 1 point for every 10 yards that they run in their game that week, etc. Each week in the league, your team plays someone else’s team and so on until at the end of the play-offs a champion emerges. Sounds like fun, right?

Anyhow. This year has been a little rough because we have so many teams in our leagues that players are scarce. It’s been a dog eat dog season, I’m not gonna lie. Therefore, it is my supreme honor to tell you that I have clawed my way to the number one slot ahead of the all-season dominating Tigerbones team as of this week! And I thought I should brag about it this week, since I may not be able to next week. 🙂

The fun thing about having your own league is:

1. The power of being the Commish. This also comes with a slice of humble pie when you make mistakes that affect your league. After all, with great power comes great responsibility…

2. Having fun with friends. It’s a rip-roaring good time when you actually personally know everyone in your league because you’re the one that set it up.

3. Just enjoying the football season to the max.

Now, why can’t football season be as long as baseball season?? I ask you.

P.s. If I were going to be an NFL player, I think I’d choose to be the kicker. I’d probably make it through the season with all my bones in tact and still get to be on the team!

P.s.s. I mean, really. Doesn’t this song just make you so excited?? I’m just sayin’.

One thought on “Tigerbones is NOT #1…

Leave a Reply

