Yes, It’s ‘Alright with Me’

So, it occurred to me as carted my store-bought cookies in for Bible study snacks the other night that at this point in my life it feels as if I have more money than time. And let me tell you, people, that’s not saying much.

But even as the papers on my desk whisper of mutiny, the mileage on my car sky-rockets, and my clothes continue to stage a hostile take-over of my bedroom floor, I do realize that I make time for what I want to make time for. And isn’t that true of us all?

For instance, spending time with a friend is always preferable to cleaning my room. Reading a good book sometimes gains the upper hand over cooking dinner. And sleeping in on a Saturday often preempts any desire to get up early and get things done. Yet, clearly, blogging doesn’t really take precedent over much. What can I say? I’m only human.

Here’s what my life is like these days. Good times.

1.  Lifegroup. My church does small group Bible studies that start up every fall. They call them “lifegroups”. I call them “genius”. It’s a pretty great structure because every week we talk about questions revolving around the sermon that week. Every group is a little different and this year’s group is pretty rockin’. Excited to get to know these peeps better…if people can see past my flaw of not baking for them.

2.  Water Aerobics. My friend Katie introduced me to the wonder that is water aerobics. I tell people that it’s funny because this class at my friendly neighborhood gym makes me feel simultaneously really old and really young. After all, I’m surrounded by pretty old people in the class. And while that does great things for my ego when I can do the exercises faster than them, it does cause a concern that maybe this class appeals to me because I, too, am approaching the end of my prime years. Sniff.

It does make me feel like a young whippersnapper, though, because the instant I walk into the pool area and the slightly biting scent of chlorine hits my senses, I’m transported back to my cousins’ pool and the hours of fun that we had jumping off the diving board, pretending to be mermaids, and the like. All in all, though, I’ve been enjoying going 3 times a week as I’m able. Even if my hair has not. (Note to self: buy more conditioner).

3. Choir/Worship Team. I find that the act of singing is so much fun, as long as it’s not in a karaoke situation. I am notoriously bad at karaoke (that little bouncing ball over the words gives me hives) but choir is super fantastic because it combines something that I love (music) with some other things that I love (worshipping the Lord, hanging out with a variety of people, serving my church). Plus, choir starts at 7:20 AM on Sunday mornings. The Lord knows what keeps me humble.

4. Reading. Reading, for me, is like a little bit of glitter in my eyeshadow–awesome! I read more than most, less than some. After all, my job kind of requires that I read the books that I work on and HAVE YOU SEEN BARNES & NOBLE? There’s so much out there to read, I’ll never make it. Luckily, I can leave things like suspense, murder mystery books, anything about yoga or hiking and most cookbooks off my list, so maybe there’s still hope! 🙂 I have read a few diverse books in the last few months. More to come on those in a future post. I want you to have glitter in your metaphorical eyeshadow, too! I’m a giver.

5. Work. Ah, work. The job that pays the bills, allows me to see the dentist without depositing an “I owe you” in lieu of my firstborn, and offers me a place to go during the daylight hours. I’ve now been at my job a little over three years and I can honestly say that I love it. I look forward to going to work on Monday mornings. I enjoy the people who I work with. I cannot believe the blessing of getting to work with authors and books all day long. All that said, I often liken my job to this:

There’s just SO MUCH to do EVERY SECOND OF EVERY DAY. It’s a little stressful, I’m not gonna lie. Just when I think I’m making headway, another group of books is added. Sigh.

6. Moving In. This spring, my dear roommate Liz moved to Nashville, leaving a hole that couldn’t be plugged in my living situation. Enter Bryan and Bridget (feel free to picture them both wearing capes, because they are totally my heroes and the wind beneath my wings). Bryan and Bridget were the hosts of my Lifegroup last year and I got to know them a little bit. When I was weeping and gnashing my teeth trying to figure out the next place to rest my head, they offered to let me rent their basement. Not only is their place ten minutes closer to work, but they are AWESOME roommates. I feel as if I’m a part of their family and they are really communicative (muy importante), welcoming, and easy-going. Plus it’s always great to have new people who you can beat on game nights. Ahem. Just kidding, guys. That said, I moved in here at the end of May and (you guessed it) am still not unpacked. I’m just so tired of moving every 2 years. I’m staging a passive protest. Sure, the only one I’m hurting is myself, but I’m okay with that.

 7.  The Office. Okay, people. Over the years, I’ve managed to see the first two seasons of The Office. I always thought they were funny and I’ve seen a smattering of other episodes through the years, but when asked why I didn’t keep up with the show, I always said that each episode was more of a “stand alone” and that the story arc wasn’t enough to keep me committed. Boy, was I stupid. My aforementioned superfantastic roommates have the seasons! And since we have a standing “sharing” policy when it comes to all DVDs, I’ve been watching them through. SO. FREAKING. HILARIOUS. I’ve never laughed so hard as I did with these bloopers. Brilliance. That’s what that show is. Just brilliance. 🙂

Let’s face it. A lot of the magic comes from this guy:

Anyhoo. If you’re still reading this, I count you a 4-star friend. I know I’m long-winded, but we all have our crosses to bear. 🙂 And just think! Only a few months until Christmas and after that AMERICAN IDOL returns. Now that’s what I call a happy new year.

OH! Speaking of which…

2 thoughts on “Yes, It’s ‘Alright with Me’

  1. Linda says:

    Loved the plates spinning
    You are going to have to talk us through The Office when you come home for Christmas – Dad and I just don’t get it!
    Thanks for keeping me updated on Kris….it kind of was a long song with Alot of repetition my 2 cents worth….
    Love you

Leave a Reply

