True Confessions

Feel free to sit down, pour yourself a glass of iced tea and turn on some music…preferably “True Colors” from the Sister Act 2: Back in the Habit*. What can I say? I like a theme. 🙂

I don’t think I have to tell you that a good relationship is based on communication. And since I’ve been incommunicado since American Idol ended (I needed a little breather from the rigors of voluntary recap blogging…whew!), I feel I should make things up to you by telling you a few things you probably don’t care about at all. But maybe this vulnerability on my part will draw us closer and you will magically forget that I’ve neglected you for these long months. A girl can hope, right?

1.  I own the complete series on DVD of two particular shows: Gilmore Girls and The West Wing. These are easily my favorite shows of all time and I feel like I’m not alone in liking them…after all, they were both on for seven seasons! But what you may not know is that I’ve re-watched them end to end (after GG, start WW…rinse, lather, repeat) often just before going to sleep. There’s something about the background noise of a familiar show that helps me turn off my thinking from the day, relax, and usually fall asleep right away. I know it’s kind of dumb, but at least if I’m ever on Who Wants to Be a Millionaire and a question comes up about either show, I’ll be totally covered. And feel free to use me as your “phone a friend” if you need me. I know. My generosity overwhelms you. You can thank me later. But seriously. Who could not love this??

2. I’m a reader but not a READER. When one thinks of someone who love the written word, one conjures up images of an English professor sitting in a study wearing a corduroy jacket with patches on the elbows and a pipe in his hand, a shock of hair falling across his brow as he pours over Chaucer and Whitman and Milton (oh my!). Or maybe that’s just me…In any case, I must admit to you now that I have never made it through a Jane Austen book. I have never read Wuthering Heights. With the exception of Little Women, I have not read a “classic” book outside of assigned school reading (except maybe The Adventures of Tom Sawyer. And my Mom made me read the first 20 pages of Black Beauty). Most English literature poems do not make sense to me at all (even though I took a poetry writing class for fun in college). Mostly, I read modern-day fiction. Also, I read some non-fiction if I’m really passionate about the subject. But let’s keep it real since I’m among friends – a reader, I am. A READER, I am not.

3. While I consider myself an organized person, usually my desk at work looks like a war zone in which death by paper is a very real possibility. I can’t help it – there’s no place for this stuff to go! File folders, books, stacks of paper, lists…sometimes clausterphobia kicks in and I have to take a walk and breathe in and out of a brown paper bag to return to it. It’s a good thing that I can keep this messiness a secret since in cubicles everything is so hidden. *cough

4. I’ve already seen the new Karate Kid movie twice in the theater. I love it. A lot. The only thing that would make it better would be if they released it in the IMAX so that I could pretend to be in the film. Now let’s not kid ourselves…I’m a definite fan of the original movies (even The Next Karate Kid with Hilary Swank that most people try to forget even happened). I was skeptical that anyone would be able to remake such a classic without making it totally cheesy. They did, though. Whoever “they” is. In any case, my hat is off to them and I will never put my jacket on without mentally pretending to rebuff the advances of karate chop after karate chop delivered by Jackie Chan.

Well, there you have it. I’m glad we had this talk. Have any confessions of your own? Leave them in the comments so I don’t feel alone. 🙂

*A few of my friends make fun of me for saying the full titles of sequels. It’s not “Step Up 2” it’s “Step Up 2: The Streets”. It’s not “Sister Act”, it’s “Sister Act 2: Back in the Habit”, etc. I’m not alone in this, am I? I’m being laughed at for being accurate!

5 thoughts on “True Confessions

  1. Brooke says:

    Amy. Amy. Amy. So good to get to read you again. And I congratulate you on being a reader and NOT a READER. Who wants to read something and not have fun doing it? I will never understand. If you are doing it to feel smart–just go to Wal-mart and deal with almost any checker. Almost inevitably you will walk away feeling like a rocket scientist (although there are rare and pleasurable exceptions).
    I used to be the picture of organization–I don’t know what happened. I will say I feel pretty dang good about myself when I see all my friends’ refrigerators. It is about all I can do not throw everything out and start over for them. There have been a couple times when I just couldn’t take it anymore–I’m sure they appreciated the results.
    As for the shows, it’s best I not comment. But I am glad that you are back (for a brief standing O).

  2. katie says:

    aw. i really do feel closer to you ame. thanks for bearing your soul. here are some of my confessions:
    1. i’m addicted to who’s the boss. it warms my heart and i don’t care if people think it’s weird that i watch at least 2 hours of it a day. but i know that you understand…
    2. i don’t get the saying – “you have your work cut out for you”. it sounds like it should mean something is easy but it means something is hard. no one can ever explain it to me satisfactorily.
    3. i ran a red light today. don’t tell anyone.
    that’s about all i can come up with off the top of my head.

  3. Jennifer Pam says:

    Well Amy, as u know, i am a reader/READER, but have little patience for Non Fiction. I keep candy in my nightstand, tune out my kids on occasions, love playing classical piano music, but can’t stand listening to too much of it, yell at drivers at stop signs to “go!”, and I especially enjoy a good snack from 7-11.

  4. Susan says:

    Aw, Aimers. Thanks for breaking radio silence. 1. We only own the first season of WW and have watched it 3 or 4 times (the cliff hanger kills me, but hey, it’s expensive – we resorted to finding episode recaps online to endure the suspense). 2. We have the entire BBC production of Nero Wolfe and have watched most of those episodes a half-dozen times (where else can you get clean, witty crime-solving?) 3. I haven’t updated my blog since Oct 2009 (I blame it on Blogger discontinuing their support of FTP publishing and me not liking any of the WordPress themes) 4. My only food cravings have to do with cheese, Cheez-its, grilled cheese, and quesadillas. 5. The best neighbor I ever had was my NDN in college. Love ya, kiddo!!

Leave a Reply

