It’s COOOOMMMMIIIINNNNG!!!!

I kind of can’t believe that next week is Christmas. That seems a little nutso if you ask me. Luckily, I’m done with all my Christmas shopping and I’m ready, but I’m still trying to wrap my mind around the idea of packing up and flying off to my parents house for the next few weeks.

After the festivities are over, the games have been played (over Dad’s strong objection) and the sleeping in has been had (over Mom’s strong objection) and all the presents have been opened and the gift bags safely stowed for next year’s gifts, I’ll still have something to look forward to. That’s right.

The 2010 American Idol season is just around the corner and as the promo shows us, “they all have to start somewhere”. Fortunately for us, “their” start is aired on national television. C’mon. You know you love it! 

A few thoughts and predictions for next year’s season that’s so rapidly approaching. After all, it seems like just yesterday that Kris Allen was crowned 2009’s winner and I was jumping up and down like a Mexican jumping bean all hopped up on sugar.

1.  First, we have the auditions to look forward to. I predict that our dear Ry-Ry will be less exhausted than last year and back to all his hosting glory. Not only that, but besides the jewels in the rough that squeak by with their yellow ticket to the golden gates of Hollywood, we get the crazy-with-a-dash-of-desperate idol hopefuls just BEGGING to be ridiculed. Of course, I’ll throw in a “bless their little heart” every once in a while so I’m not being cruel but this is going to be good. Let’s recall for a minute a few choice memories that we’ve gleaned over past seasons, shall we?

I especially enjoy two parts of this video…1:04 i’m-too-caught-up-in-the-emotion-of-this-song guy and 1:19 this-is-my-moment-to-shine girl. But the best part is the moments from 1:30 to 1:36. Now THAT’S an audition montage for you.

Reaching just smidge further back in our memory I bring you this next clip. Gosh, I wish I could just memorize one line and sing it over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over…well, you get the picture. 🙂 Now that’s annoying. But it’s classic!

But all poking fun aside, we also get this:

And this…

And a little of this…

And lest we forget, also this (pipe down, Simon!).

2.  SO, as we all know, Ellen DeGeneres will be making her American Idol judge debut this season. Now, I think she came on board AFTER the auditions, so this is really more of  a prediction for next next year. But just so it’s in writing somewhere…I think some Idol hopeful will bring in a pet that they’ve rescued into their audition to garner her vote to send them to Hollywood. I’m just sayin’. (“Here, Ellen, be mesmorized by my chick named Fluffy and don’t concern yourself with, you know, the train wreck vocals of this audition…”)

3.  I’m kinda interested to see how the judges verbal sparring changes this season. I wonder if Kara will learn how to control her willy-nilly finger pointing and general decibel level. I wonder if Simon will find ways to tick Ellen off. I wonder if Randy will insert another “catch phrase” into the mix to spice things up a bit. I wonder if Ellen will have anything of substance to say…besides being funny, of course. All these questions and more will be answered soon!

4.  I wonder if I will ever love a winner’s CD as much as I love Kris Allen’s? Um. no.

Hold on to your hats, folks…we’re in for a ride of a season! But don’t you worry. I”ll be here to take us through it every step of the way. Well, except the audition phase. That is, unless something REALLY funny happens. Also, Paula Abdul who? 🙂

2 thoughts on “It’s COOOOMMMMIIIINNNNG!!!!

  1. thequirkyredhead says:

    One of the best parts about the audition shows is hosting a “Laugh at the American Idol Contestants” Party. The auditions are even funnier in a crowd. I highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

