Weekend Wedding

So, this weekend my friends Grace and Payton got married. They’re such a great couple and I was thrilled for them.  I volunteered/was volunteered to do the flowers for their wedding. A few things:

  • It’s not as easy to “do flowers” for a wedding as one might think. Sure, it sounds easy peasy to toss some flowers together and tie a ribbon around them, and I suppose that’s a legitimate option…but mostly trying to get the right shape/look that looks simple can actually be quite difficult. For instance, dealing with daisies. I did the flowers for a wedding where the bride just wanted bouquets of daisies for her and her bridesmaides. Sounds simple, no? Well, daisies, as you might know, have a single stalk with several flowers stemming off from it. Imagine trying to attain a rounded dome look when all the flowers are different sizes. Cutting the single flowers off is sometimes an option, but then again, the stems have to be long enough to reach water and be taped with the other stems. It can be quite the undertaking.
  • Florist tape and double sided tape are my favorite things of the weekend. I heart them.
  • All those people who want to be more “casual” and have the groomsmen wear something without a jacket? It’s their wedding and I get the look, but it’s really so difficult to pin a boutonniere on a shirt without sticking the person. Come to think of it, there’s no better way to either get acquainted or endure a long and awkward moment as when you pin a boutonniere on someone.
  • Also, guys don’t really seem to understand what a boutonniere is. While assembling and pinning many a boutonniere I often hear one groomsman call to another and say “You have to come and get your flower!” That happened this weekend again and I smiled to myself. So the third and final groomsman came in to get “pinned” (different connotation than the ’50’s, guys) I thought I’d have a little fun with it. He came in and said, “I’m supposed to get a flower” (he seemed really excited about it). I jokingly said “Otherwise known as a boutonniere?” chuckle chuckle. Dead silence. Longest 30 seconds of my life. He looked at me blankly like I was speaking a different language. I let it go. After all, it’s not my job to educate the masses. 🙂

All in all it was such a lovely day and a great time to celebrate with dear friends. I love going to weddings where you know that the two people who are pledging their lives to each other make more of an impact for the kingdom of God together than they do apart. I only got a few pictures, but here they are. 🙂

100_1649

Grace’s sister and bridesmaid

100_1650

A close up of the flowers

100_1651

The beautiful bride wearing the groom’s coat. What a gentleman. 🙂

100_1652

Another close up of the flowers.

2 thoughts on “Weekend Wedding

  1. Dad says:

    Hey M!

    If you find the right guy…and get married, we won’t make you do your own flowers! (I’m hoping that’s not been the barrier…as we could have put that aside long ago!)

    I’m now sensing that the “right guy”, would either have to know that their flower is called a boutonniere, or be able to laugh at you making fun of them! Am I right? 🙂

    ILY M!

Leave a Reply

