A Book Review For You…

So, my roommate and dear friend, Liz Johnson has entered the publishing world as an author…with her own book and EVERYTHING! I’m so impressed by her dedication to her writing and even though I’m not AS impressed when she has to write instead of hang out with me, I guess I understand. 🙂 The discipline it takes to not only write a book, but then to hand your beloved story to an editor, see it ripped and dismembered and then put it all back together again is an amazing feat and she’s incredible.

So, here’s the deal. I’ve read The Kidnapping of Kenzie Thorn cover to cover and am ready to review it on this here blog.

 kidnapping of kenzie thorn

Here’s a brief synopsis:

“Myles Parsons is just another inmate in Kenzie Thorn’s GED course…until his abduction plan succeeds. Terrified, Kenzie doesn’t want to believe his explanation. That he’s Myles Borden, FBI agent— placed under cover because someone wants her dead.

Now that Myles has got her out of harm’s way, his plans start to fall apart. He attempts to take Kenzie to a safe house—but the stubborn woman won’t go! He struggles to protect her even as she takes care of him. He tries to keep his distance…and finds himself falling in love.”

As I read this book, I really enjoyed the plot line. It was well thought out, the characters were all true to themselves all the way through the book and the details leading up to the big reveal were all expertly placed.  Liz wrote a spunky heroine with a tender side and a big protector with a mission bigger than himself and it was fun to “watch” their relationship grow.

I think my favorite part of this book is the heart.  I got a clear message running throughout that even though we don’t always know what God is doing, His plan is perfect and it requires perfect trust. That’s a lesson that I always need to re-learn and be reminded of and to have the faith woven all the way through – not in an “in your face manner”- was an encouragement. Plus, the thrill of the suspense and the romance didn’t suck, either. 🙂

If you like Dee Henderson or even just romantic suspense as a whole, you’ll like The Kidnapping of Kenzie Thorn, I’m telling you.

AND, as an extra bonus to you, I’m doing a giveaway. Because I have the hookup (I’m now the first Liz Johnson “groupie” and while I don’t get to hang with a band, I do get to be on the inside track, so that’s something…) I’ll be giving away a free signed copy of The Kidnapping of Kenzie Thorn.  Here’s how you win: Answer one or more of the following four questions in the “comments” section of my blog and you’ll be in the running to win. Just like that *snaps fingers…hours of fun that fits in a purse and it’s only $5.99! 🙂 I’ll announce the winner next Saturday, so not only will this be free, it’ll be fast.  I don’t mess around when it comes to reading, people.

Questions:

1. What do you like most about reading?

2. What’s the last book you read that you couldn’t put down? (I’m always looking for good ideas :))

3. What book/author has impacted your life more than any other?

4. If you were writing a story, what would it be?

 If you aren’t the lucky winner but still want to check out the book after this awesome review, you can find it here: http://www.amazon.com/Kidnapping-Kenzie-Steeple-Inspired-Suspense/dp/037344348X/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1250312613&sr=8-2

Happy reading! 🙂

8 thoughts on “A Book Review For You…

  1. Elizabeth (Byler) Younts says:

    hey Amy! great summary of the book…sounds very interesting.

    Questions…I have answers…

    The last book I couldn’t put down…probably Eve’s Daughters by Lynn Austin. SO COMPELLING, amazingly written. I have also read ALL of Allison Pittman’s books and loved every one of them. http://www.allisonpittman.com Liz has probably heard of her. Allison is my critique group leader and unofficial mentor. 🙂 LOVE HER.

    Hope I win!

  2. Caroline Grandi says:

    What do you like most about reading? I find it very relaxing and intellectually stimulating.

    2. What’s the last book you read that you couldn’t put down? (I’m always looking for good ideas 🙂 ) it was actually two: The Scarlet Pimpernel and Black Beauty

    3. What book/author has impacted your life more than any other?
    Apart from the Bible, John Piper.

    4. If you were writing a story, what would it be? Historical fiction

  3. Liz Johnson says:

    Hey friend! Can I enter the contest, too? J/K Thanks for the great review! I’m glad that you enjoyed the book … and that the “thrill of the suspense and romance didn’t suck.” 🙂 You crack me up!

  4. Heidi Jo says:

    How very VERY exciting! I am also a writer, although I have yet to finish and publish anything, so I understand the great amount of work and brain power this takes. Give your roommie my congrats!!

    1. What do you like most about reading? I love that it’s a wonderful way to unwind and also explore places we have never been and meet people we have never met in our imaginations. I am such a daydreamer!

    2. What’s the last book you read that you couldn’t put down?
    The last Harry Potter book- original, huh?

    3. What book/author has impacted your life more than any other?
    I think Lori Wick has impacted me the most because I read her books so much growing up and she was part of my inspiration in wanting to become a writer. Which will happen someday.

    4. If you were writing a story, what would it be? I have no idea! And THAT is why I am having trouble becoming a writer. I just don’t have any fabulous ideas right now!

  5. redheadkate says:

    Last book I read was “Angry Conversations with God: a Snarky, but Authentic Spiritual Memoir” by Susan E Isaacs. The author is a friend of a friend, so I picked it up…and absolutely loved it. All about how she took God to couples couseling during her middle-class, white girl tragedies (her words), and it changed her world. Great quote from the book, “Sarcasm is a viable form of communication.” She is going to be on tour with Donald Miller this fall. Can’t wait to hear her in person.

  6. Dad says:

    M,

    What I love most about reading? Every time I do it, it reminds me of the bestest reader, most passionate book worm on the planet, and a girl that has found her calling in life…Working for a book publisher!!! It REMINDS ME OF YOU AMY C!

    Love,
    Dad

Leave a Reply

