It’s sweeping the nation…

…or maybe just my life. 🙂 What is it? The staycation! I’m now a girl on a budget, which ironically has given me a lot of freedom (no more checking the bank balance with trepidation). But I had to come to terms with the fact that I don’t have any extraneous money just lying around for flights or roadtrips. Let’s just have a moment of silence.

<silence>

Okay. Moment over. I know I’m not alone in cutting back on traveling funds. However, my employer gives me a ridiculously awesome amount of vacation time and so the thought of a staycation was born. And may I just say that it’s been a little slice of heaven? It’s been such a lovely week of not having a bedtime! For real, that’s my favorite part of the whole concept, if I’m being honest. What else have I been doing you ask?

A little of this…

emb 002

I’m embroidering a set of tea towels for a wedding gift. Not only do I enjoy doing it, but I love mine that my Nana made for me and that she taught me what she knew. This is towel number one that is now done (yay!). Up next, tomatoes!

And some of this…

devilwearsprada

I love watching movies late at night. One of my faves is this one…Meryl Streep is just so fantastic in it. I started this one at 11:30 one night. How am I ever going to go back to the way my life was?!

A good helping of this…

hp2

I saw Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince on release day with two very dear friends, Emily and Aaron. The movie was all I had hoped for and more (though I would have made one small change)…some of the scenes in the movie were JUST as I had imagined them while reading the books. Now that’s great literary genius. 🙂

And unfortunately some of this…

leg

I went on a walk/hike with my former roommate Anne today and managed to bite the gravel in a daring move few would care to emulate. I scraped myself up pretty good (my hand, too, which I naively used to try and break my fall) but managed to still have a wonderful time catching up with my friend and marveling at God’s creation.

In addition to these few things, I’ve had some nice times of hanging out and conversation with friends, projects completed and lots of sleeping in.

Though I would have much rather seen my family on a vacation, if the option isn’t there I highly recommend the experience of the staycation. I’m sure I’ll be lamenting the earlier hours soon, I do feel refreshed and ready to go back to work come Monday. And isn’t that the point, in the end? 🙂

9 thoughts on “It’s sweeping the nation…

  1. joyinthejourney says:

    I’m glad you’ve had such a great “staycation”! Sounds lovely – I may just have to try something like that myself. :0) I especially like the part about staying up late watching movies!

  2. Katrina says:

    We did the stay-cation thing this year, too, and it was surprisingly relaxing! No packing, no driving, and it’s definitely more budget friendly!

    Your embroidered towels are so cute…love them!

  3. mom says:

    I am glad you have had a great staycation, although we would always love to have you home!
    The tea towel looks fantastic! Na-Na is looking down with pride:)
    Love,
    mom

  4. Dad says:

    Good Morning M,

    As usual, I’m probably your last comment on this post. As a dad, I am very proud of your staycation (stayonbudget) decision. Those decisions are hard…but it sounds like you made it a terrific experience.

    Perhaps next year your staycation can be a parentscomevisitcation? That is if we wouldn’t get in your way. What I meant is your funest part (no bedtime), would be a lonely part with your lifeless after 9:30pm parents. Ooops…guess if I want an invite, I better not put our worst foot forward!

    I love and miss you! Dad

  5. Heidi Jo says:

    Fabulous! That tea towel is amazing. So I hopped on over to your blog from Erin’s and I have decided that you must be one of my regular blog stops now. You like Gilmore Girls, American Idol, tell humorous stories, and note that Tyra likes smiling eyes which means are you well-versed in America’s Next Top Model. A girl after my own heart. And I know we were at Master’s at the same time, but I’m not sure we ever met while we were there. Hi, I am Heidi. Lovely to meet you!

Leave a Reply

