Sum sum summa’ time

So, summertime is simultaneously fun and frustrating for me.

Fun

  • Playing volleyball on Monday nights in the park. It’s so awesome to be able to be outdoors, meet people outside of my normal group, and get exercise all while playing a sport that I love.
  • Having summer hours at work. Sure, working that extra 45 minutes Monday through Thursday makes me want to shoot my face off most of the time. But getting off at 1:00 on Fridays? Priceless.
  • Flip-flops. What was once an every-day-wear item when I lived in SoCal is now a to-be-savored seasonal extravagance. Hot weather = flipity flopping all over the place.
  • So You Think You Can Dance. Music, correography, the youth of America…all wrapped up into a nice and neat reality show.
  • Iced tea. It’s back in season and there’s nothing quite like it on a hot summer’s day!

Frustrating

  • Summer vacations (mine and others) messing with my social calendar
  • The heat. I know, I know. You all have it worse because you live in California/Florida/Texas/insert-hot-state-here. I still don’t like it. I’d rather have the cold than the heat, thankyouverymuch. The weather and I get along pretty well during the springtime.
  • Teenage over-population. They. are. everywhere. I. want. to. be.

So, I guess the good outweighs the bad. I’m just saying…

This last weekend I went to see Transformers 2 with my roommate Lizย and the movie felt 5 hours long. It was 3 hours (which is still a long movie) ofย  me trying to decipher which robot/transformer guys were fighting which and if they were good or bad and why I cared. Lots of battles, less character development and…shall we say…plot made for a movie I’d never recommend. That being said, I think it’s totally a guy flick through and through because the guys I’ve spoken to about the movie didn’t have any qualms about singing its praises.

My new-ish favorite game is Carcassone. Remember this? Well, Carcassone is different but the same in a lot of ways. It’s building a new world. It’s strategy. But it’s not a detailed with as many rules as Settlers which means it’s easier to play with newcomers. And it’s faster – instead of playing a 2-3 hour game, one game usually lasts about 45 minutes. It’s super fun. I think you should all try it if you’re “gamers”.

I have a new purse given to me by my roommate Liz freshly back from her trip to NY. It makes me happy.

ย 100_1598

That’s all for now, but I still have a few “post-it” posts left, so stay tuned. ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “Sum sum summa’ time

  1. Liz Johnson says:

    Thanks for the purse shout-out, yo! ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you like it. Who knows ya? Maybe we’ve been roommates for too long? *pondering … pondering* Nope. Survey says you’re stuck with me for at least another year. (Yes. I’m still avoiding my revisions. They make me want to cry.) ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. Dad says:

    M,

    As you can tell…it’s been a while since I’ve read your blog! Don’t take it too hard though…yours in the ONLY blog I really read (and care about and enjoy and love…). Well, maybe that’s a little exaggerated…I read Karis’ on about the same interval! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m thankful you have friends like Liz who know whatcha like! Maybe she can spray paint Eon pink for you this summer as a summa time activity! ๐Ÿ™‚

    ILY,
    D

Leave a Reply

