remembering the titans…

…and I’m not talking about the NFL team, although to be a girl about it for just a few seconds, I really do love the colors on their uniforms the best. Light blue and red? Killer combo. Plus, sometimes it’s nice to dwell on happy news since the whole Bronco offseason has been one fiasco after another. Suffice it to say that Josh McDaniels (new coach) needs to get his act together if he’s going to win me over. Then again, I think he’s probably not trying very hard to win me over…go figure.

Ahem. This weekend Kelly and Katie came over for an impromptu dinner and movie night. Unlike some movie nights I’ve been to/hosted, this particular one did not involve a group of people wandering up and down the new release aisle of Blockbuster arguing over a suitable motion picture that all would enjoy. This one was pretty painless…we narrowed it down and amicably decided on our movie (one of the ones at home…I’m a girl on a budget) and went downstairs and fired up the DVD player.

In the midst of our decision making pow-wow, however, I discovered that Liz had been harboring a little secret*. That’s right, she actually owns one of my very favorite movies of all time–Remember the Titans!

remember the titansWhy do I love this movie? Let me count the ways…and for once, it doesn’t involve a romantic storyline or a cute boy.

  • I heart sports movies. Even if I don’t ever watch said sport in my “real life”, I still can’t get enough of them on the big screen. Case in point, growing up I liked Little Big League and more recently For Love of the Game. Both of them are baseball movies. And I think I’ve made my stance on baseball pretty darn clear. There’s just something about the unifying effect of a sporting event. The highs, the lows, the cheering…it never fails to take me on an emotional rollercoaster ride.
  • I love that these movies are mostly about people. The game provides a catalyst to bring them together, sure, but it’s in the “bringing together” of the people that really makes the movie. Whether it’s an against the odds older never-before-pro player making it on a professional sports team (Invincible) or watching the underdog American hocky team score Olympic gold against all odds (Miracle) or a jaded coach teaching a bunch of misfits how to play hocky and gaining perspective on life and what’s important (The Mighty Ducks, D2 and D3) OR a basketball coach laying the smack down and bringing hope for a future to inner city kids (Coach Carter) there’s just something about sports that I can get into. And let’s be honest…it never fails to make me cry.
  • I cheer anyway. Yes, I know that the team is going to win in the final seconds of the game. I know when they rush for the endzone/base/basket/goal that the football/baseball/basketball/hocky puck will make it in. But I cheer anyway. I just get so caught up in the moment that I can’t help myself. And I feel like just a part of that win is because of my support.
  • I especially love sports stories based on a true story, as is the case in Remember the Titans. The special features that highlight the real people afterwards just makes me think that I can do whatever I put my mind to.  It really happened, people. It could have happened to me!
  • Remember the Titans will always hold a special place in my heart because I do love Denzel and he’s brilliant in this film. I love that a football team brings hope to a community split by racism. I love that the team sticks together and is stronger because they accept each other and work together. And I love that even though not every second of the movie is a bunch of roses, there’s still the strength of the relationships to ground the story. (Also, I had forgotten but Hayden Panettierre is in this movie as a young girl. Random!)

Watching this movie with my friend, Helen, today was so fun. It had been a long time since I’d seen it and it was every bit as good as I remembered. If you haven’t seen it or haven’t seen it lately, you should definintely watch it.

Hey, you never know! Next time you see me, I could be coaching an inner city cricket league and changing lives for the better. 🙂

*To be completely fair, Liz didn’t really hide the movie from me. She’s always generous with her DVDs and they are displayed in plain sight. I was merely exaggerating for dramatic effect. It worked, right?

5 thoughts on “remembering the titans…

  1. Liz Johnson says:

    Whew! Glad you let me off the hook with your disclaimer there. I thought I was going to have to stand up for myself. 🙂

    I heart Denzel … and Ryan Gosling, too!

  2. Peter says:

    I love remember the titans too but because I went to Druid hills high school. I also played football there 1970-72. It really takes me back. I can relive my he days vicariously through the movie

  3. Dad says:

    M,

    I’m thinking that the real deep down reason you love sports movies, is that it’s like life as a believer…YOU KNOW WHO’s GOING TO WIN IN THE END! All you have to do is watch it happen!

    Love,
    Dad

Leave a Reply

