Happy Birthday, Mom!

100_0749

Dear Mom,

Happy Birthday! I know you’d like for all your chicks to be home spending the day with you and I’m so sorry that I can’t be there in person. 😦 I love you so so much and I’m so blessed to have you for a mom. Here are just a few of the things I love about you in no particular order (and keep in mind this list is not exhaustive…):

  • You are an inspiration to me in your spiritual walk. I’ve never met anyone as diligent to spend time with the Lord each day in a real way as you are. If I ask you to pray for something, I know you will because most of your battles you fight on your knees.
  • You are the best listener a girl could ask for. At times, you listen to me ramble for minutes on end and only speak to ask questions and understand or clarify what I’m saying. You are so approachable – I know I can talk with you about anything (big or small) and you will care about it just as much as I do.
  • I may have the counseling degree, but you are so wise in your counsel to me (and others). I know you will always give me sound advice, based on Scripture or Scriptural principles.
  • I appreciate that it’s so easy for me to be your friend now that I’m grown, but I always know you’ll wear the “mom” hat when I need it most.
  • I love that you love movie popcorn and chocolate. It makes you just that much more accessible. 🙂
  • You always serve others and are looking out for the interests of others even if others never notice what you do. You are a true, constant and loyal friend to those around you.
  • I love your sense of humor…especially when you’re over-tired and laughing at everything. Your laugh is so infectious and I love to hear it. 
  • I would never have such a love for football without your presence in my life – THANK YOU! In the beginning I was just in it for the Sunday chocolate chip cookies, but now every game I watch reminds me of you. It’s so fun to experience the Bronco season with you. 🙂
  • In so many ways you prepared me with the skills I would need to be on my own. Thank you for making me do all the chores I complained about…I now know how to remove stains from my clothes, properly clean out a refrigerator, make dinner, etc. all because you taught me how. Thanks for preparing me for life in the “real world”.

It’s hard for me to sum up in words all the things that I appreciate about you, Mom, but I hope you know how much you mean to me. I love you and miss you!

Love,

M

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Mom!

  1. Linda Haddock says:

    M,
    Truly, your words mean so much to me. I love having you for a friend and seeing the wonderful work God has done in you as you have grown up and matured in life and in your journey with God.
    Words can’t express how much your gracious words mean to me.
    I love you and I am always here,
    Mom

  2. Dad says:

    M,

    As you ALWAYS do…you’ve captured the essense of the subject VERY well!

    I’m the most fortunately man on the planet…I have the honor of living with the woman you blogged about. It is quite amazing…it’s like having box seats to your favorite sporting event or entertainer! WOW!

    GREAT POST M! AML, Dada

Leave a Reply

