And Then There Were Two…

Wow, guys. I can’t believe the season is coming to a close. I have to say I’ve been mucho impressed-o with this group of American Idol contestants.  With the exception of Lil, who stayed WAY too long, I think America has done a fairly decent job of whittling it down to the final two.  I would have  made a few different choices, but who can argue with the masses? Not me. Even if I wanted to, I don’t really have a platform for it.

Ry-Ry opened up the final performance show up with the following phrases (pausing between each, of course, for dramatic effect):

  • “Tonight it is the battle of the acoustic rocker vs. the glam rocker”

Yeah, but I don’t really get “battle” from either one of them. They seem to have a Cook/Archuleta “may the best man win” vibe about them. And while I’m sure they’d each like to walk away with the crown, it’s not American Gladiator, folks. Though it would be kinda fun to see the last two contestants swing those red and blue colored qtip-y type weapons, that’s not what we’re here about tonight.

  • Conway vs. California

This takes me back to my SAT prep days. One of these things is not like the other…one of these things just doesn’t belong…Conway=a city in AR. California=a huge freakin’ state. I mean I know the world is our stage, but I just think we should keep things on equal footing at least at the top of the show, hmmmm Ry-Ry?

  • The guy next door vs. the guy liner

Maybe I’m just living under a rock, but I’ve never heard the phrase “guy liner”. It seemed to get a reaction from the crowd, though, so who am I to judge? If they’re referring to Adam’s excellent hand when applying his eye liner, then I could get where they’re coming from.

Ryan takes the time to introduce the judges again. I’m going to take a quick moment to highlight a few, shall we say, styling choices.

  • Randy looks a little bit like those guys in high school when their moms made them dress up but they really didn’t wanna so they tried to make it as cool as possible without quite making it.
  • Simon stopped one button short of an acceptable shirting choice. C’mon Simon!

Ry-Ry gave us the first DVR warning that American Idol has ever had the courtesy to extend. I appreciated it, though by now I kind of already knew that they would run over. I set my DVR recording to go half an hour over the time just in case. There’s nothing like being left in the dark of the final winner at the eleventh hour! So, all that to say. Thanks, Ryan. But too little, too late.

And just like that we’re off and running…AFTER the BREAK.

Adam “Glambert” Lambert

“Mad World”

Channeling both the uni-bomber (long black coat much?) and Michael Jackson (did you see those gloves?) and rising from the underworld stage, Adam chose this song from his season repetoire and I have to say I’m glad that he did. I missed this entire performance that week because my DVR cut off the show and the YouTube versions weren’t the same. I totally know why people raved about it…it was a fantastic performance. I do like this version of Adam better than the sticking-the-tongue-out-rocker style Adam. It was a great performance.

Kris Allen

“Ain’t No Sunshine”

One of the two songs that I downloaded from iTunes for my pre-record Kris Allen collection. With the exception of one wonky note there at the beginning he gave a great rendition of this song. It had everything…great vocals, great phrasing, great arrangement. Sigh. Simon gives round one to Kris.

Ding, ding! Round two!

Adam “Glambert” Lambert

“A Change Is Gonna Come”

Interesting choice, Mr. Simon Fuller! Giving Adam neither ballad nor rocker song, Mr. Simon Fuller stretched Adam’s comfort zone with a gospel-like song. He totally pulled it off and while I could do without what someone else has termed his “giraffe tongue” (as we allll know by now), I liked the way he sang this song. I do have to say, though, that I don’t think you necessarily have to look like you are going to cry or slash your wrists every moment of a song in order to convey “emotion”. But ‘nough said. Good job, Adam. You are a great and worthy opponent.

Kris Allen

“What’s Goin’ On”

Ooo, I like Kris’ guitar. It’s pretty. One of the things I’ve loved about Kris all season is his ability to sing and be so at home behind an instrument. I like the cool rhythmic feel and the chill style. Randy felt like it was a little subdued for the venue, but it’s who Kris is…dude’s gotta be himself, dawg. I’ve heard that Kara’s contract only extends through this season. It’s not that I don’t like what she has to say, but does she have to jab her finger at me and yell at me every second? If you talk in a regular voice, Kara, the microphone will pick you up. That’s how a microphone WORKS. If she stays on, next season they should have her trade places with Randy. At least in bringing the audience back from a performance her yelling has a purpose. 

Adam “Glambert” Lambert

“No Boundaries”

This is the song that will be the first single for whoever releases the album, co-written by Kara Dioguardi (who else would they pick?). Adam started off his slightly rock-i-fied version first and it was, in my opinion, a little bit of a mess. I’m not sure if the song was just too much (it didn’t grab me), or too hard to sing but both guys struggled with pitch, and for Adam who’s only hit a few wrong notes this season and they weren’t even in the same song it was kind of suprising that he was all over the place. At one point, he pulled a key change from nowhere and I’m still trying to figure out what happened there.  His version wasn’t that good. I’m just keepin’ it real like that Rand-dawg, who for all his time in the biz still only repeatedly assures the vocalists that they can sing. Um, Randy? We know that. Can you contribute something different instead? Thumbs down on this performance. Oh and Adam? I hate your pants. On to the next!

Kris Allen

“No Boundaries”

Kris’ version was much better, or at least more mainstream, than Adam’s but the key was too high for him to really rock it (though he did his darndest) and the pitch problems were there, though not as prominent, in this performance. It’s hard to get behind a performance of a song that I think is a little hum-ho for the finale night. I have to interject one of Todd’s comments at this point. While we were all watching this performance, he mentioned that it must be interesting for the band to do two performances of the same song back to back in different arrangements. Huh. I never thought of that…but he’s right. Shout out to the band who didn’t do anything distracting which is really most of the battle at one of these things. 🙂

Tonight I re-lived a portion of my childhood. This very evening I’m suffering from “nintendo thumbs” or what the hip youngsters these days would call “texting thumbs”. It’s when your thumbs are actually sore from pushing buttons too much. I wore out the battery on Todd and Noelle’s phone voting ’cause I took a poll online and the breakdown was something ridiculously close…49% – 51%. I’ve done all I can, now there’s nothing to do but wait.

Tomorrow holds our results and after delaying them for a ridiculously too long finale show, our precious Ry-Ry will impart the knowledge to us all. And knowledge, as we all know, is power.

Wondering who will get the confetti shower until tomorrow…Haddock, Out!

11 thoughts on “And Then There Were Two…

  1. Dad says:

    Way to go M! That was one fine Idol recap! I loved the new work for the gladiator bats…was it “the q-tipy thing”? 🙂

    Only one more show M! Mommy voted for your guy! I, on the other hand, saved whatever the cost is for the call. 🙂 I’m doubting that my 1 vote would have put him over the top!

    I love and miss you M!

  2. Erin says:

    So, I also loved the first two songs. But only the first to songs. I really didn’t like either of Mr. Fuller’s choices, and couldn’t stand the Kara song. It didn’t even seem catchy to me. By the way, at one point I turned to Tim and asked him why Kara was yelling at us. She always seems so angry…I’d be okay with her not being a judge next year. I think I’d be happy with either guy winning. Tim likes Kris best, so he DOESN’T want him to win, cause he doesn’t want him to be bound to AI. (evidentally they pay the winners a salary and AI pockets the proceeds from the music.) So, he’s hoping Adam wins, and Kris gets filthy rich off a CD through a non-AI label. We’ll find out tonight!

    • amycoadventures says:

      Kris not winning=boo!
      Kris getting filthy rich on an album not produced by American Idol…well, that would make me feel a little better if he doesn’t win. 🙂

  3. Sam Neylan says:

    2 thoughts about why Adam won’t win
    1) In the real estate business there’s something called ‘a unique buyer’ (well, i think they’re called that in any business). It refers to a unique product needing that one unique buyer. Adam Lambert appeals to a ‘unique’ crowd. Obviously, they’re not SO unique since he’s in the top 2. But, he’s not ‘universal’ the way Kris could be if he kept it up (I can NOT believe he’s in the final 2…i’m neutral about it…. other than I don’t want Adam to win… so, by default… which leads me to point #2

    2) People who don’t like Adam’s vibe (I’m the president of that club), up until this week have been splitting their votes between Danny & Kris…. last night, I think Kris got all of danny’s votes …. which will landslide Adam.

    THAT’s my prediction. Ultimately, I think it’s about being a performer who appeals to the most crossover demographics…(though, I’m not sure how jordin sparks ever won, but I can’t answer ALL of the AI myseteries). 🙂

    awesome AI series from you Haddock!

  4. jessi says:

    Amy,

    I want Kris to win because you want Kris to win. And you are my Idol eyes and ears. I didn’t watch it myself this season, but I feel like I still got the action, the heartbreak, and the drama of the show.

    So good job. You’re the best.

    PS: When you reprimanded Kara about talking to loud, I laughed. Because it was funny.

    • amycoadventures says:

      So glad to be the voice of American Idol for you!

      p.s. WRITE MORE BLOGS! I miss your witty commentary. 🙂

  5. Jen says:

    Can AI just stop w/ the original-i have a dream-cheesy-want to make a pop hit for the radio-songs? BADBADBADBAD! So Amy, when your DVR went 30 minutes over did you watch Glee? caught my attention!

  6. mom says:

    M,
    I really think that the producers should listen to your suggestion about Kara trading places with Randy if she returns….so true, so true….
    Love, the q-tip-y thing remark – I totally know what you mean!!
    Love,
    Mom

  7. Sam Neylan says:

    I love that Jessi reads your AI blogging in lieu of watching/listening to the show. Which I find hiiighly ironic, since it’s about singing. ahahahahahah …. just goes to show you, you don’t even have to be HEARD as a singer to be known.
    awesome!

Leave a Reply

