The American people are at it again…

This is not going to be the best recap ever, let’s just get that out of the way right now.  Last night I came home sporting my new haircut (thanks, Anne!) and settled on the couch prepared to watch American Idol and change over all my stuff to a small (okay, MEDIUM-sized) purse and only one of those things happened. Hint…it’s good for my back but didn’t involve watching anything on TV.  

Why, you ask? When I’ve been such an avid watcher and commentator (isn’t that, in fact, what reality tv is for? to make us all feel like experts in something that we’re really not?) all season and missed nary an episode last season? Well, I’ll tell you. It’s allll Comcast’s fault. That’s right, counseling profs, I’m blame shifting. BECAUSE, the blame really doesn’t belong on my shoulders. Ahem. I digress.

Anyhoosits. I came back last night and turned on my TV and every single blessed one of my channels was black. I checked my DVR…nope! Nothing had recorded for that night.  I marched back upstairs, pulled the Comcast bill off our communal table where things like this live, and proceeded to call the number on the bill. The number, I was told by a robotic voice, had been changed and the NEW (and what I could only presume was an improvement over the last) number was…blah, blah, blah.  Obediently, I called the new number and spoke to two different people, who both had thick accents that I SWEAR I’ve never heard before. By the second rep, I was a little testy having been told twice before that I was calling the wrong number. I WAS CallING the NUMBER THAT YOU GAVE ME, PEOPLE! One gentleman, rest his soul, had the audacity to tell me that I entered my account number wrong. Um, no. I did not. And that is a totally unacceptable blame shift. 

Finally, I tracked down a very nice woman who not only spoke English, she spoke English that was understandable to me. First hurdle down. She then proceeded to try every sort of reset that was in her arsenal, all to no avail. At this very moment, my channels are all still black and will remain so until mr. repair the cable guy visits me this weekend. Oh, well. It’s really not the end of the world, but frustrating nonetheless. So, that’s why I can’t recap Idol. I didn’t see it.

Here’s what I’ve gathered from the online recaps and watching the results show tonight.

  • Apparently Kara can’t count, and Ryan is not above rubbing her nose in it. Hey, people! Math is HARD.
  • Michael and Scott were still the weakest links, and after a few shaky weeks (I believe the last time Michael was on solid ground was during the top 36 performance), Michael finally went home. What a relief! Not that he isn’t a stand up guy, the kind of person that we all aspire to be (minus, of course, the country bent) but his time was done. And America finally realized it.
  • Did President Bush have this many live press conferences? If he did, I never watched them. Why on EARTH couldn’t this happen on Monday night? I think that’s the perfect night to have such a media event…when the American people have had a chance to relax over the weekend and then shift gears into going back to work and riding the wave of the economy and everything is fresh in their minds. But, whatever.
  • I canNOT believe that Matt Giraurd was in the bottom three! That’s a crime. A crime, I say!
  • Megan Joy totally gets the cutest outfit award again. And she’s kinda growing on me.
  • I like Kris. He’s smooth. And I’m quite certain he has some gnarly dance moves somewhere in that understated personality of his.
  • Paula and Simon are driving me nuts. Can’t Randy sit between them or something?? I mean, that’s basic parenting 101, right?
  • Ruben Studdard has the biggest tongue ever. It’s so wide! Did anyone else notice this?

In other news, today our offices closed around 1:45 because we had our very first winter blizzard. Yes, it’s technically spring. But that’s Colorado for you. We march to the beat of our own drum. It’s currently 10:41 PM and snow’s still swirling around out there and our office has been shut down for tomorrow, too. The only thing left to do is be thankful for the warmth and stay put until it clears up. I’d like to dedicate this post to my parents, who are currently on a cruise in the Caribbean, where snow storms are the furthest thing from their minds. Must be nice. Love you guys! Hurry back so I can call you whenever I want…

Waiting for Mr. Repair the Cable guy until next week…Haddock, out!

2 thoughts on “The American people are at it again…

  1. ComcastMark says:

    American Idol is one of my favorite shows. I am sorry to learn that you missed Wednesday’s show.

    I agree with a lot of the things you stated about American Idol results. Matt should not be on bottom three, Paula and Simon needs to be separated, and media events should take place on Mondays! 🙂

    Anyway, I am glad that we have a technician coming out to look into the problem. I also apologize for your experience when you called our technical support line. I will make sure that this is addressed and also ensure that the service call is completed successfully this weekend. Please feel free to send me the phone number on the account if you are interested in my assistance.

    Best Regards,

    Mark Casem
    Comcast Corp.
    National Customer Operations
    We_Can_Help@cable.comcast.com

Leave a Reply

