Finally Friday

Well, I’m sitting here in my blue recliner catching up on American Idol.  While the audition season is a little flat for me, I’m believing in the magic formula that’s kept me entertained and invested for the past 4 or 5 seasons. There’s something sad, though, about watching it by yourself. What good is it to hide behind a blanket cringing at the audition that some tone-deaf person with either an inspirational story or a gimmick if there’s no one to share it with? This is definitely a group sport.

In my attempt to be a better blogger this year, here’s my second post in (count ’em) two days. 🙂 While I can’t really go into much detail on my blog, work has been full of mayhem this last week and stress has become our office’s constant companion.  Having worked both with and without stress, I can tell you this unequivocally…stress makes time go by slower. Or maybe not slower, but the time is weighted down and so it wears you out more completely.  That’s why it’s such an accomplishment for me to get to Friday…it’s practically the equivalent of running a 5K and winning.

In other news, I’m constantly warring with myself over my pillow. After my accident a few years ago August, I started seeing a chiropractor. He instructed me (probably as his professor instructed him) that my neck should be in a neutral position when I lay my head on my pillow. See, the thing is…I have a hard time figuring out what that is. I spend a great deal of time analyzing my neck placement. Is my neck angled up? Is it angled down? What is the perfect pillow height? Density? Placement? It’s kind of a mystery to me. It’s fairly amusing to me that I’ve spent so much time working myself up about this, but this morning I woke up with a headache, signifying that all was not right in neck-land. Maybe it’s time for a new pillow. Or maybe it’s time to try another pillow that used to work for me in a rotation-type schedule.  Or maybe it’s hopeless and my neck will never know the joys of being neutral. Sigh.

In any case, have a fabulous Friday, wherever you are. And if that’s Houston, TX with a certain niece of mine, all the better. Oh, and Ryan Seacrest is so the best host ever (although Chris Harrison is really growing on me too).

One thought on “Finally Friday

  1. Liz says:

    OHCH rocks my face off!!! 🙂 “Ladies, Jason, this is the final rose for tonight.”

    Good luck with the neck/pillow thing. Maybe we should go shopping for one of those tempurpedic pillows with the groove for your head to fit into. Maybe that’s a neutral position. You never know!

Leave a Reply

