I Didn’t Want to Do It…

So, it’s fall out here in Colorado. A glorious, longer-than-usual fall that has been perfect.  And while the crisp in the air usually makes me feel nervous about driving on roads that will inevitably get icy and snow-blown during the winter, I find myself being GLAD that it’s fall, instead of cursing it’s leafy fingertips. It’s true that the trees are gorgeous, the mountains snow-capped, and the days beautiful but I think what really gets me is the smell in the air. The one that makes me think of Christmas and days with snow falling outside and being all snuggly and warm inside, and childhood memories of making snow tunnels and angels. The one that reminds me that it’s time to drink tea, pull out my cute scarves, and burn my Christmas Cookie Yankee candle. In short, it’s all fall’s fault. It made me love it…I didn’t want to do it.

PLUS, with fall comes a very special time of year. Yes, that’s right…football season. And while my Broncos are not really playing to their full potential, and frustrating me to pieces, there’s just something about watching a game that makes me feel like I can really affect change. If I yell and jump up and down AND wear my Terrell Davis jersey, then they will TOTALLY win. Very scientific, don’t you think? But I’m not the only delusional one out there…trust me. I get a little nuts, but only foam finger and cheering nuts. No paint is involved. And I’ve never worn cheese on my head.

I CANNOT belive that Christmas is creeping up on us. I’m excited to go home and see my family, watch a football game with my Mom, hang out with my sis, go to coffee with my Dad. I’m excited about drinking my honey vanilla chamomile tea in my Christmas mug and watching Elf. I’m excited about pulling out all my Christmas paraphenalia and creating a Christmas mix CD. But mostly? I’m thankful. Thankful for my life, my family, my friends. Turns out we have a new President. And once again, I’m thankful because our country has elections that don’t turn into wars.

And that’s why I think Thanksgiving comes before Christmas. Not that any retail store takes that cue…but whatever.

I’ve been a little absent lately, but I’m going to try and do a blog post every week up until Christmas. We’ll see how it goes, but I have high hopes…much higher hopes than actually having my car cleaned out by that time.

🙂

2 thoughts on “I Didn’t Want to Do It…

  1. Dad says:

    Hey M,

    What’s up with having 1.15 posts! That’s just a little more than one post this week! 🙂 It’s always great to hear what’s happening. I take if from this post that I’m taking you to coffee, huh? Sounds like a winner! I’ll look forward to it!

    Love, D

Leave a Reply

