I miss Gilmore Girls…

…so to console myself, I went and saw “The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2” last weekend. I’ve been looking forward to the sequel for some years now since the first one came out when I was still in college. (man, I feel old)

I have to say, I really enjoyed it but it wasn’t what I thought it would be. I was all settled in for a feel good chick flick but Alexis, America, Blake, and Amber delivered a complex and layered plot with each individual character dealing with some tough issues. I walked out feeling like I needed to see it again to get the full weight of all the plots woven through the movie.  Still, it was good to reconnect with my good friend Rory in a different venue and to spend time with my friends.

I’m watching the Olympics right now (of course).  May-Treanor/Walsh (the American beach volleyball team) are about to clinch another swept set. I’m so darn proud.

Speaking of being proud, I’m stoked for Michael Phelps! He’s phenomenal. No suprise there…but I have to say the commentators make me really nervous. They are so confident about our chances in each race, I feel like they’re going to jinx it. I just cringe and wish that they’d keep their comments to themselves. But then, I suppose, they’d be out of a job.

I’m kind of disappointed that I haven’t seen a table tennis or trampoline event yet. Apparently, these aren’t prime time type of sports. I figure if I make fun of the fact that these are Olympic sports, I should at least watch once.  It’s only fair, right? And if I’m anything, it’s fair.  Maybe the next Olympics I should commit to watching at least one of each event. Right? Might as well make the most of it!

I’ll leave you with this. Seriously, people! Let’s get behind this opinion:

 

WHO IS WHO????

2 thoughts on “I miss Gilmore Girls…

  1. andtheivy says:

    tear. Gilmore Girls always makes me feel warm and toasty on the inside (like a big thick Christmas sweater around my soul) and also reminds me of you. Can we have a marathon please? Maybe I’ll have to make my trip a few days longer. Or 3 weeks. Or maybe I should just move to Colorado.

  2. Dad says:

    Good Morning Again M,

    I do see the resemblence between MJF and BC, but your mommy has never had a crush on MJF! 🙂 (Shhhh…don’t tell her I told you she’s got a teenage girl crush on Bob Costas!

    We didn’t see the first “…Pants” movie…I’m thinking your gonna have us watch them both when you come out for Thanksgiving or Christmas…

    I’ll be ready! 🙂

    Love,
    Dad

Leave a Reply

