Where Have All the Cowboys Gone?

So, recently I’ve started to hang out with a few girls at work quite often. Liz, Katie, Stephanie and I have a bang up time whenever we are together. (In case you are trying to glean life knowledge from my blog, this is the hallmark and foundation of a good friendship.) So far we’ve shared meals, book recommendations, and many an hour watching Veronica Mars. I’d say we’ve pretty much bonded. 🙂

 So, the other day, I got an email from Stephanie asking if any of us liked rodeos. I responded pretty much immediately (after all, I am responsible email returner) and with something to the effect of “No, in fact I hate rodeos and all that they stand for.” Let’s just clarify for a second that I’m not talking about the treatment and exhibition of the animals. I’m talking about the cowboys…

 I grew up in Wyoming. I’d say we had our fair share of cowboy types per capita. I remember working in K-mart stocking shelves and seeing a teenage walk in with plaid shorts, boots, aaaannnd (you guessed it) a belt buckle the size of my head.  Who came up with this? Is it REALLY necessary to make a belt buckle so big that it blinds you when the suns rays hit it? I think not. I know not.

Quite a few years running, my school HCS ran a concession stand at our annual rodeo. Aside from learning a few tricks on how to make the soda fizz die down faster as you fill the cups, I came away with a startling moment of clarity. I am a city girl.

Now, this is not to say that I am a high maintainance girl. Well, I suppose you could say that if you wanted, but I would probably punch your lights out. That’s what I like to call being scrappy.

 In any case, I relayed this story to my shocked and dismayed friends (who incidently happen to like cowboys, rodeos and country music) and received incredulous comments.

I’m sorry. I’m just not into it.

I happened to mention to my friend Carly that I felt pretty much the same way about country music–many a roommate has tried to convert me to no avail–and she about swallowed her gum…metaphorically speaking. She said (and I quote), “I love country music! It’s so passionate and it tells a story…and sometimes it’s MY story.”

 So true, Carly. So true. And so, blogosphere, I leave you with that deep thought.

3 thoughts on “Where Have All the Cowboys Gone?

  1. Dad says:

    Good Morning M,

    I have one word to say about your distain for Cowboys, Rodeos, and Country Music!

    AMEN Sister! (OOpppss…that’s 2 words…but 2 words well expressed I might add!)

    I have a friend here in West Virginia (WV) that has schooled me on the finer points of Country Music. In fact, it was always called “Country Western” Music when I was growing up. I’m being repeatedly told that it is “Country…NOT Country Western” nowa daize. Well, ok…Country it is! It still the same old tired honky tonk music my dad used to make us listen to. He used to wake us boys up early on Saturday mornings with a song called “Wasted Days and Wasted Nights”, by Freddie Fender. All I can say is…I hated that song, the twang and the sound of it upon my waking mind. What I will admit to is that THAT SONG, if you listen to Country Music, will describe what you’re doing…specifically…Wasting Days and nights!! 🙂

    As to Carly’s comment about it being, “passionate and HER story”, I would agree with the first, but I sure hope that the latter isn’t true. The songs that come into my head are Tom T. Hall’s “I like Beer” (the song goes on to say…it makes me a jolly good fellow) and “Old Dogs and Children and Watermelon Wine”. 🙂 Here’s the link to that song’s lyrics: http://www.cowboylyrics.com/lyrics/hall-tom-t/old-dogs-children-and–watermelon-wine-12409.html

    So, now you can tell what kind of childhood your father had and how far a relationship with the Saviour has taken me away from it all…but when people say they love Country Music…those kinds of songs come into my head. Here’s another…Tammy Wynette’s song called “D-I-V-O-R-C-E”. I just don’t think these kinds of songs or subjects should be anyone’s passion! 🙂

    M, I found that link to “Old Dogs…” with “GoodSearch”, kind of ironic, huh?! Made a Penny for McCheyne Hourglass Ministries while searching for an old ugly Cowboy song! 🙂

    Since we’re on the subject of music…whatever happened to churches that provide contemplative, moving, and worshipful music with at decibel rating of less than 250? What happened to “Be still and know that I am God” type songs? It seems that all churches are going away from deep songs of meaning and substituting them for what I’ll call, the 7-11 songs. 7-11 used to be a convenience store where I bought my “Icees”, Big Gulps, etc…well you probably know the place!

    In the case of 7-11’s application to music…it’s songs with “7 Words” repeated “11” times. How deep is THAT? Don’t get me wrong…I’m not against 7-11 songs…but how about a mix of “deep” WITH “7-11” songs? I better quit and get off this soap box before you or one of your readers knocks me off, as I suspect your audience of young and vibrant people may get tired my commentary on this subject! 🙂

    M, it’s just so frustrating…mommy and I are looking for a church where we fit. Music is only one aspect of it, but it is one of the things that minister to this old parched soul!

    We are tweenagers (not a real word…my new word). No, that’s not a typo on teenagers. Tweenagers is a term to describe those of us who grew up with some hymns, some praise and worship choruses, and some Contemporary Christian Music. We don’t fit the all Contemporary set, nor do we fit the old timer set! We are be-tween those two groups! Your mommy has become more of a Contemporary lover than I am. I love the new songs that have deeper meaning, but so many of them are just shallow! (I’m sorry…this is YOUR Blog…not mine!)!

    I miss you and I’m looking forward to showing you around Washington D. C., …10 days and counting down!!! You’ll have somethin’ to Blog on that trip…I’m sure!!

    All my love,
    Dad

  2. Liz says:

    I would just like to point out that I am, in fact, not the fan of rodeos. That belongs distinctly to Katie and Stephanie. Sorry girls … I may love country music, but I am not a fan of wranglers, the jeans or the job.

Leave a Reply

