Amy’s Consumer Reports

Nine out of ten normal people will tell you that I am no expert on anything…well, except maybe Gilmore Girls. That having been established, I would like to give you my humble opinion on a few of my favorite things of all time (or at least this week).

 #1 – My Patagonia Scarf

dsc03615.jpg

As most anyone who knows me will tell you, I am not a big fan of the snow sports.  I don’t relish the idea of ever going down snow-packed hills at breakneck speeds. Seems to me that that’s a good way to get killed.  So, many would draw the obvious conclusion that I’m not really into winter gear, either. While I’m no REI frequenter, I can appreciate a well made and functioning scarf.  This scarf that I now own is a Patagonia brand scarf. I mention this so that everyone will know: A) That I actually own something with a brand that would make fellow Coloradoans proud and B) So that you will know that this scarf is legit.  Now, I don’t know where you live, but here in Colorado it’s been known to get pretty cold.  Even this week, we’ve had to contend with over 50 mph winds that put us in below zero temperatures.  It’s at these times that I like to pull out this scarf.  Please notice, if you will, the width of my scarf. It’s ginormous. It’s huge (like Sputnik).  This means that I can wrap it around my mouth and neck so that I’m not breathing in sub zero temperatured air.  Please also note that it is made of fleece. Wonder fabric, that one. I heart this scarf. Truly, the bestest invention ever.

dsc03616.jpg

#2 – My DustBuster

dsc03619.jpg

True to it’s name, this little guy really does bust my dirt.  It busts it right up. It says, “Hey, you! Dirt. Get over here. I’m going to bust you up”.  And for that, I love my DustBuster.  This lovely item was a gift from my Uncle Neal who said, “No one should be without a DustBuster!” Turns out, he was right. Now, instead of sweeping my floor and trying to finagle all the fine dirt, crumbs, etc into my dust pan, I simply dust bust them.  Easy. No more dirt. And, on those rare occasions that I give my car the cleaning it deserves, my DustBuster again comes to the rescue in those hard to reach crevices.  I really don’t know how I lived without one!

#3 – Pace Picante Sauce

dsc03623.jpg

The story goes that when I left for college, my Mom was able to stop buying Pace Picante Sauce in bulk from Costco.  What can I say? I love the sauce.  The Pace sauce, that is. It’s always been my favorite. Always.  And in the last two weeks, I’ve discovered that I’m a bit addicted to it. I finished up our last 1/4 of a bottle last week and am now 1/2 way through the new bigger bottle. Accept no other in its place. This one is made by folks who know what salsa should taste like. That other stuff is made in New York City.  Trust me.
#4 – Puffs Tissue with the scent of Vicks
Kleenex
You know what? I don’t normally buy into the whole speciality tissue thing. With lotion, without lotion, with aloe, without aloe, anit-viral, viral…if it doesn’t feel like sandpaper on my nose, I’m good. What’s truly important to me is if they are in a cute box that matches the room they are placed in. That’s my level. But, when I went home this Christmas, my Mom introduced me to these fine tissues and I may never go back. I like how the scent of Vicks cleanses the airways and makes me feel all good inside…like I’m getting better. And all of that without the slimey Vicks Rub. I’m thinking this is a better way to go. Just one word of caution. Don’t stick it in your eye. The results will not be pleasant.
#5 – My New Bookshelf
bookcases
I am so brilliant. I should get a medal. Having no place to house all of my millions of books, and no money with which to purchase a nice bookcase (say from Target or Wal-Mart), I decided to take matters into my own hands. Fully aware that the usual outcome of this decision is chaos, I prepared myself for the worst. Here was my idea – build my own bookcase. Buy some unfinished wood crates from my local craft store and stack them on top of each other to create a cool bookcase. I found out that it worked even better than I ever imagined! Maybe someday I’ll even stain them so they match my room…

# 6 – My new favorite pen

This pen was a re-gift from my roommate who is a teacher. I started laughing really hard when I saw this pen. Let’s see if you do too…
pen 1pen 2
So that’s it. That’s the extent of my market research. I think you can be fairly certain of its accuracy as these results as I have not been paid or compensated in any way to bring them to you. Let me know if you have anything I should add to the list! 🙂
3 thoughts on “Amy’s Consumer Reports

  1. Abby Gunter says:

    Amy, I definitely enjoy your posts. You always make me laugh and it is good to hear what you are up to. Anyway, the only thing that would make this post better is a beautiful picture of yourself with the “sputnik scarf” wrapped around you. 🙂

  2. Dad says:

    M…M…M,

    I have the following comments…

    On the scarf…I’m with Abby…the scarf was nothing without you modeling it! It appears to be long enough that you AND Anne could model it! 🙂

    On the Pace Picante Sauce…we STILL don’t have to buy the bulk size from Sam’s Club (we no longer live close to a Costco). We can now pay our mortgage and put money in our 401(k)!

    On the Puffs plus Vicks…I think the Vicks overdose you’ve obviously been subjected to is causing you to now think that you are some kind of Market Expert in the world of M-Junk! I’m hoping and praying your sister Lindsay doesn’t start sniffing the stuff too much! It’s already too late for your mom!

    On the book shelves…I would compare it to most Airport contstruction projects in that… most Airports, once built, are already too small for the traffic volume they were built to handle because it took them so long to build it. I call it the “Airport Construction Syndrome” (ACS). The dead giveaway that your “new” book shelves qualify to be compared to ACS is that 0 of the 3 shelves have all the books vertical…like they are designed to be placed in a book shelf. Maybe if you bought 20 or 30 more of them, you might be able to achieve your objectives (1. Still being cheap; and 2. Getting your books on an upright piece of “furniture” and out from under your bed, tables, car seat, closets, and whereever else you store them)

    On the pen…Nice job Anne, you’ve managed to give Amy a gift that was NOT obviously appreciated by you, but is now a shooting star, being on the famous blog site…”Amy’s Colorado Adventures!”. The poor unappreciated pen is now being appreciated… and we have you to thank for that! I would say, that in the day of electronic media, it can never be appreciated like it once could have.

    M, the only thing I could think of to add to your list is…well…nothing, since the Vicks is the cause of your thinking this blog was…well…helpful to all of us! 🙂

    Seriously…I love and miss you VERY VERY much!

    Love,
    Dad

  3. jessi says:

    i did laugh.

    i did laugh heartily.

    ps: I didn’t know that you moved to wordpress and so now I’m having to play catch up. normally igoogle tells me when you’ve posted.

Leave a Reply

