Animals

Today marks day 5 of my friend Sarah’s visit to Colorado.  I sat down 4 days ago and wrote down all the activities that we wanted to do before she left.  What can I say? Once a list-maker, always a list-maker. So sue me. 🙂

 One of the things that went on the list was going to the Cheyenne Mountain Zoo.  Now, just a little background for those of you that don’t know every detail of my life. When I went out to Washington in May to visit the same friend, she mentioned going to the zoo.

 It is from this that I skillfully deduced that she enjoys animals behind bars.  I personally enjoy selective animals WITHOUT bars…like dogs and um…ladybugs.  But for the most part, I steer clear of zoos. I’ve heard the horror stories. I’m hip to the animal lingo – it seems they are tired of being locked up with homo-sapiens taunting them constantly.  I can’t say as I blame them…just call me the zoo whisperer.

 But in love and deference to my dear friend, we suited up in coats, gloves and scarves to see what was going down at said zoo.  After a mildly frustrating trek trying to find the location of the housed animals, we finally disembarked to a practically deserted zoo.  Turns out, people don’t go to the zoo in the middle of the week in the snow and cold. 🙂 As it happened, some of the animals didn’t either…

We lots of animals – lions, tigers, bears (oh my!), zebras, giraffes, meekats (btw, if I could take one animal home from the zoo it would be the meekat. I was not even deterred by the sign “Be careful, the meekats bite!”), leopards, etc. I think you get the picture.  Most of this was standard zoo fare, but I was a little shocked and unnerved at the fact that the zookeepers allowed peacocks to roam free about the zoo campus.  I kept expecting it to beak me to death! (that could just be the drama queen talking, though…)

There was also a moment that a fake vultures scared the living daylights out of me, but let’s not dwell on that. It makes me sound like more of a wimp than I really am. I swear.

It seems that the day at the zoo was a success.  My favorite parts were:

– Not having to read every placard explaining every animal’s kingdom, phylum and species.  We’ve ALL been with those types of people at a zoo.

– Spending time with my friend Sarah, who needs to get it in gear and move out here already

– Seeing the meekats

– Getting down the mountain in one piece

– Not getting beaked to death by a rabid peacock

 I promise that pictures are forthcoming.  I brought my camera, but didn’t unsheath it because it was dang cold. Sarah had more luck clickety clacking on her sweet digital camera and I’ll bum some shots off of her. 🙂

Postscript – Who is the brianiac that came up with the idea of housing smelly wild animals in a hot and humid (and might I add cramped) enclosure? Seriously.

Leave a Reply

